Refine

By Category

By Imprint

8 results 1-8

Sunday Morning Coming Down

Nicci French (Author)

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition'
Sophie Hannah

It's always darkest before the light comes. In the chilling seventh instalment of the bestselling, critically acclaimed Frieda Klein series, evil looms but this time it's far too close to home . . .

'There's a body in Saffron Mews . . .'

***

Psychotherapist Frieda Klein's home is her refuge until she returns to find it has become a disturbingly bloody crime scene. Beneath the floorboards the police have found the body of a man she had hired to help protect her.

The killer's message is all too clear: you're mine.

When those closest to Frieda begin to be targeted, the picture becomes more skewed: the patterns unclear.

Unless Frieda can find and stop whoever is threatening her friends and family, her love and loyalty could come at a truly fatal cost . . .

Thursday's Child

Nicci French (Author)

Thursday's Child by Nicci French is the fourth novel in the bestselling Frieda Klein series, following Blue Monday, Tuesday's Gone and Waiting for Wednesday.

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition ' SOPHIE HANNAH

*******

Two crimes, generations apart . . .

Twenty years ago teenager Frieda Klein was brutally attacked in her own home. No one believed her - not the police, not her mother, not her friends. She left town, trained as a psychologist and never went back.

Now an old classmate has shown up. She wants help with her daughter, who claims to have been attacked at home. An attack eerily similar to the one on Frieda. No one else believes the girl's story.

Now - with a school reunion in the offing - Frieda returns to the darkness she fled. To the small town which refused to help her and which hides a terrible secret. Because someone at the reunion knows what happened.

And they'll stop at nothing to prevent Frieda discovering the truth . . .


Praise for the Frieda Klein series:

'Expert in the unguessable twist, supremely skilled at ratcheting up the tension' Easy Living

'French leads the field' Sunday Express

'Brilliantly crafted . . . masterly control of suspense' Daily Mirror

'Magnificent' Evening Standard

'A nerve-jangling and addictive read' Daily Express

Waiting for Wednesday

Nicci French (Author)

Waiting For Wednesday by Nicci French is the thrilling third novel in the highly acclaimed Frieda Klein series.

Ruth Lennox, beloved mother of three, is found by her daughter in a pool of her own blood. Who would want to murder an ordinary housewife? And why?

Psychotherapist Frieda Klein finds she has an unusually personal connection with DCI Karlsson's latest case. She is no longer working with him in an official capacity, but when her niece befriends Ruth Lennox's son, Ted, she finds herself in the awkward position of confidante to both Karlsson and Ted.

When it emerges that Ruth was leading a secret life, her family closes ranks and Karlsson finds he needs Frieda's help more than ever before.

But Frieda is distracted. Having survived an attack on her life, she is struggling to stay in control and when a patient's chance remark rings an alarm bell, she finds herself chasing down a path that seems to lead to a serial killer who has long escaped detection. Or is it merely a symptom of her own increasingly fragile mind?

Because, as Frieda knows, every step closer to a killer is one more step into a darkness from which there may be no return . . .

Praise for Nicci French:

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition. No one understands human psychological frailty better. No one writes better about grief, love, fear or emotional damage. Not many books are as insightful as they are addictive; Nicci French's are.' Sophie Hannah

'Brilliantly crafted' Daily Mirror

'Full of dark psychology and tension ... nerve-tingling and addictive' Daily Express

'Magnificent' Evening Standard

Blue Monday

Nicci French (Author)

Blue Monday is the thrilling first novel in Nicci French's top-ten bestselling killer new series introducing psychotherapist Frieda Klein

***

Monday: five-year-old Matthew Faraday is abducted. His face is splashed across newspaper front pages. His parents and the police are desperate. Can anyone help find their little boy before it is too late?

Psychotherapist Frieda Klein just might know something.

One of her patients describes dreams of seizing a boy who is the spitting image of Matthew. Convinced at first the police will dismiss her fears out of hand, Frieda reluctantly finds herself drawn into the heart of the case. A previous abduction, from twenty years ago, suggests a new lead - one that only Frieda, an expert on the minds of disturbed individuals, can uncover.

Struggling to make sense of this terrifying investigation, Frieda will face her darkest fears in the hunt for a clever and brutal killer . . .

Praise for Nicci French:

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition. No one understands human psychological frailty better. No one writes better about grief, love, fear or emotional damage. Not many books are as insightful as they are addictive; Nicci French's are,' Sophie Hannah

'A brilliantly crafted new crime series' Daily Mirror

'Terrific. The writing is pacy, the jaw-dropping twists are plentiful' Short List

'One of French's hardest-to-put-down novels' Sunday Express

'French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing, expert in the unguessable twist, supremely skilled at ratcheting up the tension' Observer

'A nerve-jangling and addictive read' Daily Express

Saturday Requiem

Nicci French (Author)

Thirteen years ago eighteen-year-old Hannah Docherty was arrested for the brutal murder of her family. It was an open and shut case and Hannah's been incarcerated in a secure hospital ever since.

When psychotherapist Frieda Klein is asked to meet Hannah and give her assessment of her she reluctantly agrees. What she finds horrifies her. And Frieda is haunted by the thought that Hannah might be as much of a victim as her family; that something wasn't right all those years ago.

And as Hannah's case takes hold of her, Frieda soon begins to realise that she's up against someone who'll go to any lengths to protect themselves.

Friday on My Mind

Nicci French (Author)

Rich in intrigue, intensity and atmosphere, Friday on my Mind is classic Nicci French - a dark, gripping and sophisticated masterclass in psychological suspense in which nothing is quite what it seems . . .

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition' Sophie Hannah

***

When a bloated corpse is found floating in the River Thames the police can at least sure that identifying the victim will be straightforward. Around the dead man's wrist is a hospital band. On it are the words Dr F. Klein . . .

But psychotherapist Frieda Klein is very much alive. And, after evidence linking her to the murder is discovered, she becomes the prime suspect.

Unable to convince the police of her innocence, Frieda is forced to make a bold decision in order to piece together the terrible truth before it's too late either for her or for those she loves.

Friday on my Mind is the fifth addictive and intriguing novel in the Frieda Klein series by the bestselling author Nicci French.

Praise for Nicci French:

'French leads the field' Sunday Express

'Brilliantly crafted . . . masterly control of suspense' Daily Mirror

'Tense, frightening, gripping' Easy Living

'Dark, nerve-tingling and addictive' Daily Express

Thursday's Children

Nicci French (Author) , Beth Chalmers (Read by)

The unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Thursday's Child by Nicci French, the fourth novel in the best-selling Frieda Klein series, following Blue Monday, Tuesday's Gone and Waiting for Wednesday. read by the actress Beth Chalmers.

When psychotherapist Frieda Klein left the sleepy Suffolk coastal town in which she grew up she never intended to return. Left behind were friends, family, lives and loves but alongside them, painful memories; a past she wouldn't allow to destroy her.

Then, years later, an old classmate appears in London asking Frieda to help her teenage daughter and long buried memories resurface. Death soon follows, leaving Frieda no choice but to return home to confront her past. And the monsters no one else believed were real . . .

Through a fog of conflicting accounts, hidden agendas and questionable alibis, Frieda can trust no one as she tries to piece together the shocking truth, past and present. Before another innocent dies.

When it comes to psychological suspense, there's none better than Nicci French. And Thursday's Children is Nicci French at her very best.
There are three previous novels in the Frieda Klein series; look out for Blue Monday, Tuesday's Gone and Waiting for Wednesday.

Praise for the Frieda Klein series:

'Brilliantly crafted . . . masterly control of suspense' Daily Mirror

'Tense, frightening, gripping' Easy Living

'Nerve-tingling and addictive' Daily Express

Tuesday's Gone

Nicci French (Author)

Nicci French, the bestselling author of What to do When Someone Dies and Losing You, returns with the second book in the gripping new series that began with Top Ten Bestseller Blue Monday. Fans of Peter James' Roy Grace series and Peter Robinson's DCI Banks series will love central character psychotherapist Frieda Klein, who is consulted on a grisly and seemingly unsolvable crime.

For Frieda Klein the days get longer, the cases darker . . .

Psychotherapist Frieda Klein thought she was done with the police. But once more DCI Karlsson is knocking at her door.

A man's decomposed body has been found in the flat of Michelle Doyce, a woman trapped in a world of strange mental disorder. The police don't know who it is, how he got there or what happened - and Michelle can't tell them. But Karlsson hopes Frieda can get access to the truths buried beneath her confusion.

Painstakingly, Frieda uncovers a possible identity for the corpse: Robert Poole, a jack of all trades and master conman. But the deeper Frieda and Karlsson dig into Poole's past, the more of his victims they encounter - and the more motives they find for murder. Meanwhile, violent ghosts from Frieda's own past are returning to threaten her.

Unable to discover quite who is telling the truth and who is lying, they know they are getting closer to a killer. But whoever murdered Poole is determined to stay free - and anyone that gets too close will meet the same fate.

A gritty heroine, a gruesome crime and a terrifying hunt for a psychotic killer, Tuesday's Gone is not to be missed by fans of psychological thrillers.

Praise for Nicci French:

'Nicci French's sophisticated, compassionate and gripping crime novels stand head and shoulders above the competition. No one understands human psychological frailty better. No one writes better about grief, love, fear or emotional damage. Not many books are as insightful as they are addictive; Nicci French's are.' Sophie Hannah

'Nicci French knows just how to play on our worst fears' Daily Mail

1-8 of 8 results

Show 20 per page