65 results 61-65

Black Mirror Volume 1

Charlie Brooker (Author) , Cory Doctorow (Author) , Claire North (Author) , Sylvain Neuvel (Author)

***AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER NOW***

Edited by Charlie Brooker, the creator of the hit Netflix original series BLACK MIRROR, this book takes the very essence of the globally-acclaimed cult TV show to create new, original, darkly satirical stories that tap into our collective unease about the modern world.

This is BLACK MIRROR in book form - allowed to roam through the imaginations of some of the leading names in contemporary fiction. This collection will challenge you to see the world in a different - and more disturbing - light. You have been warned...

Authors in this Volume are:

CORY DOCTOROW

CLAIRE NORTH

SYLVAIN NEUVEL

Artemis

Andy Weir (Author)

Ever had a bad day? Try having one on the moon...

WELCOME TO ARTEMIS. The first city on the moon.
Population 2,000. Mostly tourists.
Some criminals.

Jazz Bashara is a criminal. She lives in a poor area of Artemis and subsidises her work as a porter with smuggling contraband onto the moon. But it’s not enough.

So when she’s offered the chance to make a lot of money she jumps at it. But though
planning a crime in 1/6th gravity may be more fun, it’s a lot more dangerous…

The End of the World Running Club

Adrian J. Walker (Author)

The Number One Bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club

THE ULTIMATE RACE-AGAINST-TIME THRILLER

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.

No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever...

His best option is to run.
But what if your best isn’t good enough?

An original and powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian

The Girl in The Tower

Katherine Arden (Author)

For a young woman in medieval Russia, the choices are stark: marriage or a life in a convent. Vasya will choose a third way: magic...

The court of the Grand Prince of Moscow is plagued by power struggles and rumours of unrest. Meanwhile bandits roam the countryside, burning the villages and kidnapping its daughters. Setting out to defeat the raiders, the Prince and his trusted companion come across a young man riding a magnificent horse.

Only Sasha, a priest with a warrior's training, recognises this 'boy' as his younger sister, thought to be dead or a witch by her village. But when Vasya proves herself in battle, riding with remarkable skill and inexplicable power, Sasha realises he must keep her secret as she may be the only way to save the city from threats both human and fantastical...

The Bear and The Nightingale

Katherine Arden (Author)

'Frost-demons have no interest in mortal girls wed to mortal men. In the stories, they only come for the wild maiden.'

In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church.

But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods...

Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Neil Gaiman.

61-65 of 65 results

Show 20 per page