An image of a selection of funny books for under 5s on a purple background with white dotted lines

Image: Victoria Ibbetson/Penguin

The Drama Llama by Rachel Morrisroe & Ella Okstad (2022)

Everyone gets worried sometimes but not everyone can conjure a real-life llama when they worry! That is what happens to Alex Allen, and it’s starting to become a bit of a problem. The more Alex worries, the bigger the llama grows! Can Alex figure out a way to control his worries and say goodbye to this mischievous llama once and for all? This is a heart-warming and fun rhyming tale from new talent Rachel Morrisroe and bestselling illustrator Ella Okstad. It gives young readers practical advice about dealing with their worries while also entertaining them with a laugh-out-loud adventure!

The Who's Whonicorn of Unicorns by Kes Gray & Garry Parsons (2021)

Did you know there are lots of different types of unicorns? We didn’t, but luckily Oi Frog & Friends creator Kes Gray has collated them all together in this hilarious picture book guide. There are the spooky BOOnicorns, the clumsy BUMPINTOnicorns, as well as the very smelly (but just as loveable) POOnicorns. Packed with more unicorns than you could ever believe, The Who’s Whonicorn of Unicorns will have little readers laughing out loud again and again.

Barbara Throws a Wobbler by Nadia Shireen (2021)

Barbara won't admit it but she is in a very bad mood. She's been in bad moods before, but today feels like a hundred bad moods wrapped up in one. It started off with a mismatching sock, and then there was a strange pea at lunch. The final straw happens in the park resulting in Barbara throwing a MASSIVE wobbler! And this wobbler is out of control. Will Barbara be able to rein it back in? This funny tale about tantrums is sure to have little ones giggling. 

Party Pants by Giles Andreae & Nick Sharratt (2019)

There’s nothing pants about Giles Andreae and Nick Sharratt’s vibrant and entertaining book, which is guaranteed to give adults and children a good giggle. This picture book features a hippo, a limousine, and a dinosaur in pants, plus a rather embarrassed farty pants. It might just make you wish your own pants were a bit more exciting!

Jonathan the Magic Pony by Stuart Heritage & Nicola Slater (2020)

Jonathan the Magic Pony believes he is a brilliant magician, but maybe he’s not quite the conjurer he thinks he is. Usually, he can make anything disappear with one wave of his wand, and it usually comes back again. But when Sarah’s bear doesn’t return, things start to spiral out of control. Sharks start chasing ducks, chimpanzees are covered in fleas – it’s a disaster! Can Jonathan use his magic to set things right again or is he really just a ‘no-tricks pony’?! Fans of Grumpycorn and Supertato will love this magical story.

100 Dogs by Michael Whaite (2021)

This award-winning book by Michael Whaite is a must-have for little fans of funny tales. Children of all ages will love this hilarious rhyming guide to dozens of furry and lovable pooches. There are tall dogs, small dogs, shaggy dogs, and even chewing on the rug dogs. Followed up by the equally hilarious 100 Cats and 100 Birds, this a great book to read (or bark) aloud together.

Never Teach a Stegosaurus to Do Sums by Rashmi Sirdeshpande & Diane Ewen (2021)

Can you imagine what a Stegosaurus could be capable of if it knew how to do sums? Perhaps she could learn to code, invent, or even fly to the moon! This book is one big celebration of maths and the power of numbers. Rashmi Sirdeshpande and Diane Ewen have created a riotous read with their ‘What if…?' adventure that is guaranteed to get young readers practicing their 1,2,3s.

Noodle Head by Giles Andreae & Lalalimola (2018)

We know it’s not kind to call our friends names, even if they are funny things like ‘silly sausage’ and ‘smelly pants’. Noodle Head is a tale of two cheeky buddies Flippy and Floppy who are arguing over a sweetie. But soon things start to get out of hand… This book strikes a great balance of teaching children the importance of being nice to their friends while also being hugely entertaining. Will Flippy and Floppy stop being mean to each other and learn to share?

Don't Feed the Coos by Jonathan Stutzman & Heather Fox (2021)

A pigeon is never alone, is it? That’s what one little girl discovers when she shares some bread with a coo (a.k.a. a pigeon) and things spiral out of control. Suddenly our adorable heroine is being followed from the park to karate practice and home by a whole flock of coos. This is a ridiculously silly book about what happens when you feed one pigeon and how even the weirdest of problems can be solved with a dollop of determination.

Grumpy Frog by Ed Vere (2017)

Is grumpy frog really that grumpy? Not when he’s hopping and not when he’s winning. But what happens when things aren’t how he likes them? Suddenly this frog has trouble tempering his temper! A loud, colourful and chaotic tale about an angry amphibian, that doesn’t take itself too seriously. This grumpy book is a giggle-fest from beginning to end.

There’s a Monster In Your Book by Tom Fletcher & Greg Abbott (2018)

A mischievous monster has invaded the pages of this book… tilt, spin, shake and turn the pages to see the funny things that happen to the very silly monster. This is an interactive, read-aloud book with a fantastic sense of humour by bestselling author Tom Fletcher. You’ll never look at monsters with a straight face again!

Funnybones by Janet & Allan Ahlberg (1980)

"On a dark, dark hill, there was a dark, dark town. In the dark, dark town there was a dark, dark street…" A big skeleton, a little skeleton, and a dog skeleton break out of their cellar and go on an entertaining adventure through their town. With repetitive language and songs adding fun and laughter when the story is read aloud, this is a colourful classic children’s favourite that will tickle everyone’s funny bone.

Shark in the Park by Nick Sharratt (2007)

Timothy Pope is on the lookout with his brand new telescope in the park. But what can he see? Look through the die-cut holes and take a peek at what Tim has spotted. Is that a shark in the park?! This interactive story full of rhymes and repetition is perfect for young children with big imaginations who also like a giggle.

The Book With No Pictures by B. J. Novak (2014)

This book with no pictures has exactly that… absolutely no pictures at all. But that doesn’t make it any less silly! The golden rule for this picture-free zone is that everything has to be said ALOUD, in ridiculous voices if you like. From BLURK to BLUUFH, GLUURR GA-WOCKO to BOO BOO BUTT, imaginary words and silly rhymes are celebrated; you’d have to be a GRUMPH-A-DOO not to be grinning from ear-to-ear by the end.

Bottoms Up! by Jeanne Willis & Adam Stower (2009)

If animals don’t wear pants, then why should we?! A celebration of bottoms, bazoomers, and everything beneath, this cheeky read imagines underwear-wearing animals in hilarious situations. Loud, proud, and unapologetically entertaining, the ridiculous rhymes and brilliant illustrations are bound to give tots the giggles… and adults secretly too!

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising