Where to start with...

Where to start with the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books

If you’re completely new to Jeff Kinney’s world-famous Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, can we just start by saying that we’re completely and utterly jealous of you? Get ready for one serious reading binge and warn your sides, because they’re about to split.

Puffin team

In Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, you’ll be following the adventures (and misadventures) of wimpy kid, Greg Heffley. A total of 16 books (well, we should say illustrated journals) make up this earth-conquering children’s series in which readers join Greg on his turbulent journey through middle school… and it’s a bumpy ride, to say the least.

wimpy kid book 9

To get you started, here’s a handy list of every book in the series (so far), as well as a quick spoiler-free summary. It’s up to you what order you read them in, but to make it easy we’ve started at the beginning…

And for those who are fans of Greg's best friend Rowley Jefferson, we've also included his spin-off series! As, of course, there are always two sides to every story.

wimpy kid book 6
wimpy kid book 12

For fans of Rowley Jefferson

Sign up to the Puffin newsletter

Stories, ideas and giveaways to help you spark young imaginations