21 shortlistings for Penguin Random House UK at the British Book Awards Shortlists

Penguin Random House has received an incredible 21 shortlistings in the British Book Awards, announced today at the London Book Fair.

The British Book Awards or Nibbies is the definitive event for honouring the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops. The Nibbies bring together books of the year with trade accolades, with an overall book of the year chosen from category winners. This year, the awards have been acquired by The Bookseller, and succeed 2016’s British Book Industry Awards. 

Three of our publishing houses have been shortlisted for the prestigious Publisher of the Year award  – Penguin General, Transworld (who were last year’s winners), and Michael Joseph – whilst Penguin Random House Children’s has been shortlisted for Children’s Publisher of the Year.

Our shortlistings are as follows:

Trade Awards

Publisher of the Year – Penguin General, Transworld, and Michael Joseph

Imprint of the Year – Penguin Random House Ireland

Children’s Publisher of the Year - Penguin Random House Children’s

Rights Professional of the Year  - Monique Corless (Vintage) and Sarah Scarlett (Penguin Rights)

Editor of the Year – Rowland White (Michael Joseph)

Marketing Campaign of the Year – Beatrix Potter’s 150th anniversary (Penguin Random House Children’s) and #ByBook (Penguin Random House)

Books of the Year

Crime & Thrillers Book of the Year

Night School  by Lee Child (Transworld)

The Widow by Fiona Barton (Transworld)

Conclave by Robert Harris (Cornerstone)

Non-Fiction ‘Lifestyle’ Book of the Year

The Unmumsy Mum by Sarah Turner (Transworld)

Hello, Is This Planet Earth by Tim Peake (Cornerstone)

The Little Book of Hygge by Meik Wiking (Penguin General)

Non-Fiction ‘Narrative’ Book of the Year

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi (Vintage)

Debut Book of the Year

Five Rivers Met on a Wooded Plain by Barney Norris (Transworld)

The Girls by Emma Cline (Vintage)

My Name Is Leon by Kit De Waal (Penguin General)

Children’s Book of the Year

The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher (Penguin Random House Children’s)

The full shortlist is available here.

Judging & Winners

The Book of the Year awards will be judged by a wide range of authors, buyers, journalists, critics and booksellers. They include Robbie Millen, Literary Editor at The Times, author Dreda Say Mitchell, and English PEN’s Hannah Trevarthen.

Judges for the Trade awards include author Peter James, journalist and broadcaster Samira Ahmed, and Philip Jones, Editor of The Bookseller.

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Grosvenor House Hotel on 8thMay 2017.

Congratulations and the very best of luck to everyone shortlisted.

Press Enquiries

For more information on this story please get in touch via our media contacts.

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more