Andrew Hunter Murray

The Last Day
  • The Last Day

  • _________________________________
    A stunningly original thriller set in the world of tomorrow that will make you think about what’s happening today.’
    HARLAN COBEN

    ‘I read this hungrily ... Its intelligence and bravura characterisation will have you turning page after page. A fabulous achievement.’
    STEPHEN FRY

    'Wonderful: boldly imagined and beautifully written - the best future-shock thriller for years.'
    LEE CHILD
    _________________________________

    A WORLD HALF IN DARKNESS. A SECRET SHE MUST BRING TO LIGHT.

    2059. The world has stopped turning.

    One half suffers an endless frozen night; the other, nothing but burning sun.

    Only in a slim twilit region can life survive.

    In an isolationist Britain, Ellen Hopper receives a letter from a dying man.

    It contains a powerful and dangerous secret.

    One that those in power will kill to conceal…
    _________________________________

    THE LAST DAY: an utterly original debut thriller, perfect for readers who loved Robert Harris' Fatherland, Emily St. John Mandel’s Station 11, and The Wall by John Lanchester.
    _________________________________
    'To say it’s gripping is an understatement - I cancelled all my weekend plans to finish it'
    SARA PASCOE

    'In his fascinating debut, Murray has crafted something original ... an interesting new twist on a post-apocalyptic tale.'
    KIRKUS

    'Downright impossible to stop reading. The science is believable, the near-future world feels as real as our own, the characters are lively, and the plot is suspenseful. A near-perfect alternate-future thriller.'
    BOOKLIST

    ‘Dark, believable and brilliantly written
    JENNY COLGAN

    ‘A thrilling page-turner, and a reminder to treasure our sunsets and sunrises while we still have them. I couldn’t put this book down!
    CHRISTINA DALCHER, author of VOX

    'I loved the premise of this high-concept thriller ... a compelling read with some well-placed observations on the darkness of human nature and survival. The Last Day will keep you gripped to the very last page'
    C.J. TUDOR

RELEASED 06/02/2020

Andrew Hunter Murray is a scriptwriter and fact-hunter for BBC2’s QI. He co-hosts the podcast No Such Thing As A Fish, which has had 200 million downloads, and has toured the UK, Europe and Australia. He also writes jokes and journalism for Private Eye magazine, and hosts the Eye’s podcast, Page 94. The Last Day is his first novel.