Rose and the Burma Sky
  • Rose and the Burma Sky

  • For readers of Yaa Gyasi, Esi Edugyan and Toni Morrison - gripping and intimate historical novel of a black soldier's experience in the Second World War - a rare, moving and authentic tale of love and sacrifice by the acclaimed British-Nigerian author of THE BOOK OF ECHOES.

    ONE WAR, ONE SOLDIER, ONE LOVE

    1939: In a village in south-east Nigeria at the brink of world, young Obi watches from a mango tree as a colonial army jeep whooshes by, filled with soldiers laughing and shouting, their buttons shining in the sun. To Obi, their promise of a smart uniform and regular wages is hard to resist, especially as he has his sweetheart Rose to impress and a family to support.

    Years later, when Rose falls pregnant to another man, his young heart is shattered. As the Burma Campaign mounts, and Obi is shipped out to fight, he is haunted by the mystery of Rose's lover. When his identity comes to light, Obi's devastation leads to a tragic - and wholly unforeseeable - chain of events.

    In ROSE AND THE BURMA SKY, Rosana Amaka weaves the horrors of war, the pain of unrequited love and the possibility that following your heart might not always be the best course of action. Its gritty boy's-eye view brings a spare and impassioned intensity, charging it with universal resonance and power.

Rosanna Amaka was born in the UK and is of Nigerian and Jamaican heritage. She holds both graduate and post-graduate degrees in engineering and teaching from King's College and University College London, and has spent many years travelling internationally as a chartered engineer. Experiences abroad helped fuel her interest in culture, history and the human condition, which is a feature in her work. Her debut novel, The Book of Echoes, was shortlisted for the Authors' Club First Novel Award, the RSL Christopher Bland Prize and the HWA Debut Crown Award. Rose and the Burma Sky is her second novel and was inspired by a conversation with her grandmother while they were watching a war film in which all the soldiers were white. Rosanna lives in South London. Meet her on Twitter @RosannaAmaka

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising