Page /
100%

Reviews

  • Outstanding debut ... ideal for fans of Andrew Michael Hurley

    Metro
  • There are chills galore in this enjoyable 70s-set debut about disturbed teenagers and malevolent spirits ... Anyone who remembers the 70s will thrill to Maclean's depiction of the period... The ending of the novel is particularly impressive, with Maclean bringing together both his novelistic and scriptwriting skills to full effect... Maclean brings together this strain of wild rural gothic with some slick TV plotting and a depiction of 70s British suburban life to produce a novel that amounts to considerably more than the sum of its parts, with moments of hallucinatory brilliance ... [a] very successfully scary book about twins and chaos and loss - may be the perfect novel for our phantom present.

    Guardian
  • A gripping commentary on the English obsession with class and how they deal with grief- and a nostalgic delight for those who devoured the popular paperback ghost stories of the 1970s and 80s.

    Irish Independent
  • A truly unsettling literary ghost story where the shadows encroach and dread lurks around every corner.

    Lucie McKnight Hardy, author of WATER SHALL REFUSE THEM
  • Will Maclean's The Apparition Phase is an extraordinarily powerful account of growing up in the Seventies ... Tim and Abi's enthusiasm for the weird is wonderfully infectious, and the séance scenes later in the book are truly hairs-on-the-back-of-the-neck stuff. But most of all, Maclean has captured the feel of the Seventies impeccably. This book is a must for anyone touched by hauntology.

    Fortean Times

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising