Page /
100%

Reviews

  • The most charming, life-enhancing novel I've read in ages. A perfect delight. It's about Elizabeth Zott, a scientist who accidentally becomes a TV cook in the early 1960s. Very strongly recommend

    INDIA KNIGHT, SUNDAY TIMES
  • This triumphant feminist fable, wittily observed, is teeming with vivid comic set-pieces

    TELEGRAPH, Fiction of the Week
  • Polished, funny, thought-provoking. Wearing its research lightly but confidently with sentences so stylishly turned it's hard to believe it's a debut ... The real pleasure is in the dry wit of Garmus's writing

    GUARDIAN, Book of the day
  • Not only is Elizabeth an unforgettable character, so too are her adorable dog Six Thirty and daughter, Mad. This is a truly unique book with some great life lessons

    WOMAN AND HOME, Best Books of 2022
  • A book that sparks joy with every page. LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY is both funny and rousing: it had me laughing one minute and air-punching the next. Bonnie Garmus has created an unforgettable heroine

    ELIZABETH DAY
  • It's the world versus Elizabeth Zott, an extraordinary woman determined to live on her own terms, and I had no trouble choosing a side. Lessons in Chemistry is a page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty

    MAGGIE SHIPSTEAD, author of GREAT CIRCLE
  • Full of humour heartbreak and characters who feel like real people. This is a book that everyone will be talking about

    RED MAGAZINE
  • I haven't loved a character as much as the hero of this joyful, warm debut in a very long time

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING, Book of the Month
  • A transporting read, recommended for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs Maisel

    STYLIST MAGAZINE, BOOKS TO LOOK FORWARD TO IN 2022
  • In Garmus' debut novel, a frustrated chemist finds herself at the helm of a cooking show that sparks a revolution. Welcome to the 1960s, where a woman's arsenal of tools was often limited to the kitchen - and where Elizabeth Zott is hellbent on overturning the status quo one meal at a time

    NEW YORK TIMES

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising