Page /
100%

Reviews

  • 'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller'

    Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
  • Thumpingly good

    Lucy Mangan
  • THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2018

    Based on the true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, with one of the most memorable heroines in recent historical fiction, this haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

    From the publisher
  • Beth Underdown grips us from the outset...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller

    Patrick Gale
  • A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel

    Ian McGuire
  • Atmospheric and filled with foreboding, it's a novel that draws you under its spell

    Stylist
  • A haunting, brooding debut

    Psychologies
  • Beth Underdown cleverly creates a compelling atmosphere of dread and claustrophobia... Even from the distance of nearly four hundred years, her Matthew Hopkins is a genuinely frightening monster

    Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph
  • A novel for our times. Beth Underdown's The Witchfinder's Sister explores another time and another place to lay bare the visceral horror of what a witch hunt truly is

    New York Times Book Review
  • Entertaining and thought-provoking, with a valuable message for our own times

    Washington Post

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising