Reviews

  • THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2018

    Based on the true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, with one of the most memorable heroines in recent historical fiction, this haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

    From the publisher
  • 'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller'

    Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
  • Beth Underdown grips us from the outset...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller

    Patrick Gale
  • A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel

    Ian McGuire
  • Chilling, gripping, terrifying and exquisitely written

    Susan Barker
  • Thumpingly good

    Lucy Mangan
  • Atmospheric and filled with foreboding, it's a novel that draws you under its spell

    Stylist
  • A haunting, brooding debut

    Psychologies
  • A chilling, creeping novel with parallels to more modern forms of witch-hunts

    Red
  • 'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this. [It's] about tiny braveries and small courage... a real David and Goliath story, but far less straightforward'

    Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street