The House

The BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick

Simon Lelic

***THE OBSERVER THRILLER OF THE MONTH***
***BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK***

----------------------------------------
The perfect couple. The perfect house.
THE PERFECT CRIME.

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door.

AND NOW THE POLICE ARE WATCHING THEM.

This thriller will hook you and not let you go. Perfect for fans of He Said / She Said, and The Couple Next Door

----------------------------------------

What authors and readers are saying:

'DELICIOUSLY DARK AND CLEVER WITH A SATISFYING TWIST. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Mark Edwards

'AN INTRICATE AND POWERFUL THRILLER' Tana French

'HUGELY GRIPPING AND SPOOKY AS HELL' Mark Billingham

'TAUGHT, TENSE AND TERRIFYING, I LOVED IT' Sharon Bolton

'O.M.G . I just devoured this gem...Perfect execution of a psychological thriller right here.' Reader review

'A brilliantly tense and shocking thriller. I literally couldn't put it down!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones

'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

'A bundle of creepy chills, perfectly timed for Halloween . . . Read it' Thriller of the Month, The Observer

'[A] gripping thriller . . . brilliant characters . . . and a clever, twisty plot' The People

'Deeply creepy . . . This clever, twisting plot, told in convincing voices, will haunt you in the very best way' The Sunday Mirror'

An intriguing and suspenseful read' Cath Staincliffe

'Brilliantly dark and gripping...Plays on the fundamental fear that the building blocks of our existence - home, relationships, family - may not be as secure as we like to think' Thomas Mogford

'Clearly influenced by the great Alfred Hitchcock, this is not so much a ghost story as an homage to the master's expert touch with dread' Daily Mail

'Creepy and totally gripping. A real page-turner. I loved it' Claire McGowan

'Absorbing, convincing and truly frightening ' The Times

'Powerful... A gripping, disturbing read' Marie Claire

'One of the genre's rising stars' Metro

'A writer to whom attention must be paid' Independent

  • Penguin
  • Published 2nd November 2017
  • 352 Pages
  • 129mm x 198mm x 21mm
  • 245g
  • £7.99