Reviews

  • She is back with a heavyweight state-of-the-nation story that has been ten years in the making

    Daily Mail
  • Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first

    Financial Times
  • The Ministry of Utmost Happiness confirms Roy's status as a writer of delicate human dramas that also touch on some of the largest questions of the day. It is the novel as intimate epic. Expect to see it on every prize shortlist this year

    The Times
  • Heartfelt, poetic, intimate, laced with ironic humour...The intensity of Roy's writing - the sheer amount she cares about these people - compels you to concentrate...This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India

    Daily Telegraph
  • Teems with human drama, contains a vivid cast of characters and offers an evocative, searing portrait of modern India

    Tatler
  • A beautiful and grotesque portrait of modern India and the world beyond. Take your time over it, just as the author did

    Good Housekeeping
  • Fantastic. The novel is unflinchingly critical of power, and yet she empowers her underdog characters to persevere, leaving readers with a few droplets of much-needed hope. It's heartening when writers live up to the hyperbole that surrounds them

    Hirsh Sawhney
  • A kaleidoscopic story about the struggle for Kashmir's independence

    Washington Post
  • A sprawling, kaleidoscopic fable about love and resistance in modern India

    The Guardian
  • The follow-up we've been longing for - a poetic, densely populated contemporary novel in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy. From its beginning, one is swept up in the story... With her exquisite and dynamic storytelling, Roy balances scenes of suffering and corruption with humour and transcendence

    Vogue