The Oyster Catchers (The Cordwainers: 2)

The Oyster Catchers (The Cordwainers: 2)

A sweeping, emotional Welsh saga of love and determination...

Summary

Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Cathy Sharp, this is the moving second instalment of The Cordwainers series by bestselling author Iris Gower.

READERS ARE LOVING THE CORDWAINERS!

"I have really enjoyed reading this whole series...I would recommend the reading of any of the books by this author." - 5 STARS
"Loved these books [-] definitely recommend this series: once you start you will want to read them all" - 5 STARS
"Read it in one sitting..." - 5 STARS
"Couldn't put the book down." - 5 STARS
"You finish one book and you just have to start the next one." - 5 STARS

******************************************************************

CAN SHE CLING ON TO HER HOPES FOR THE FUTURE?

When her father dies, Emmeline Powell finds herself married to fisherman Joe Harries - rough, stoic, sturdy and many years her senior. But the other fishermen's wives are unwelcoming and she soon finds herself lonely, isolated and trapped in an ill-matched marriage.

But then she meets Will Davies, who teaches her things about herself and about love that she never knew.
As tragedy and feuding erupt in the village, will the promise of a new life still be open to her?

The Oyster Catchers is the second title in Iris Gower's Cordwainers series. Have you read The Shoemaker's Daughter, the first book in the series?

About the author

Iris Gower

Iris Gower was born in Swansea. A mother of four, she wrote over twenty bestselling novels. She received an Honorary Fellowship from the University of Wales Swansea in 1999 and was awarded an MA in Creative Writing from the University of Cardiff. She died in 2010.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more