Dirty Little Lies

Dirty Little Lies

(Reuben Maitland: book 1): A hard-hitting, powerful thriller you won’t be able to put down

Summary

This compelling and gripping novel by bestselling author John Macken takes the forensic thriller to the next level. Perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs, Karin Slaughter and Patricia Cornwell.

"A tense and absorbing story..." - OBSERVER

"I was gripped from start to finish." -- ***** Reader review
"A cracking read" -- ***** Reader review
"This was dark at times...but kept me hooked and interested all the way. More please!" -- ***** Reader review
"I spent two days gripped unable to put it down. It is a well written, well constructed forensic thriller, which leaves you guessing until the final pages and then you are given a final shock..."-- ***** Reader review

*****************************************************
THE HUNTERS HAVE BECOME THE HUNTED...

Reuben Maitland runs the UK's most elite crime squad, working only on the highest-profile cases, tracking down the country's most vicious criminals. The squad have always made enemies but now they're in danger: a killer is using their own techniques against them.

Reuben must find the killer before his team is eradicated. But the more questions he asks, the more complex the answers become. And as the case unravels, so his own personal life collapses...

Not only is he fighting to save the lives of his colleagues, he is fighting for his own professional and personal survival.
The choices he makes will determine his future. When he makes the wrong one, he finds himself alone on the outside of the law, at the mercy of a seemingly unstoppable killer...

Reviews

  • A terrific forensic thriller, with real flesh and blood characters and a plot that never lets up.
    Peter Robinson

About the author

John Macken

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more