Gone

Gone

Jack Caffery series 5

Summary

Fans of Stephen King, Stuart MacBride and Karin Slaughter will love this gut-churning, deep and darkly compelling thriller from bestselling and prize-winning author Mo Hayder. A read you won't forget in a hurry...

'
Lacerating' -- Independent
'Stomach-churning, fast-paced, top-notch' -- Sunday Express
'A particularly potent blend of terror and horror' -- The Times
'Nothing short of brilliant' -- Daily Mail
'An absolute page turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Read it... You not be disappointed!' -- ***** Reader review
'Absolutely un-put-down-able!' -- ***** Reader review
'Another 'can't put it down' read!' -- ***** Reader review

*********************************************************************
HE WATCHES. HE WAITS. HE TAKES WHAT ISN'T HIS.

Night is falling as murder detective Jack Caffery arrives to interview the distraught victim of a car-jacking.

What he hears horrifies him. The car was taken by force, and on the back seat was a passenger. An eleven-year-old girl. Who is still missing.

Before long the jacker starts to communicate with the police. And Caffery becomes certain that he is planning to take another car. And another child.

Who is the car-jacker? How is he choosing his targets? And - most urgent of all - can Caffery find the child?

Before it's too late . . .

Reviews

  • Lacerating
    Independent

About the author

Mo Hayder

MO HAYDER left school at fifteen. She worked as a barmaid, security guard, filmmaker, hostess in a Tokyo club, educational administrator and teacher of English as a foreign language in Asia. She had an MA in film from The American University in Washington DC and an MA in creative writing from Bath Spa University UK.

Mo was the Sunday Times bestselling author of ten stunning crime novels, including the Jack Caffery series. Her fifth crime novel Ritual was nominated for the Barry Award for Best Crime 2009 and voted Best Book of 2008 by Publisher's Weekly. She won the CWA Dagger in the Library in 2011. Gone, her seventh novel, won the Edgar Allen Poe Award and her novel Wolf was nominated for Best Novel in the 2015 Edgar Awards, and is currently being adapted for the BBC.

Set primarily in an alternate universe, her most recent novel, The Book of Sand, is the first in a series published posthumously under the author name THEO CLARE.

Mo Hayder was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in December 2020 and passed away in July 2021.

She leaves behind a husband and a daughter, a powerful legacy of books, and an incredible number of people who loved and admired her.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more