Poppet

Poppet

Jack Caffery series 6

Summary

Bestselling and prize-winning author Mo Hayder has penned another spine-tingling and stomach-churning thriller that is guaranteed to keep you turning the pages. Creepy, enthralling, twisty and very moving, Poppet is perfect for fans of Stephen King, Stuart MacBride and Karin Slaughter.

'Hayder has a profound ability to shock and surprise her readers' -- Karin Slaughter

'With Mo Hayder you never know where you are going until you get there' -- The Times
'Oozes sinisterness from the first page' -- Entertainment weekly
'Full of twists, turns and lots of tension . . . deliciously dark and creepy.' -- ***** Reader review
'Completely compulsive reading . . . gritty and often shocking.' -- ***** Reader review
'Poppet had the hairs on the back of my neck standing up from the very beginning.' -- ***** Reader review
'Full of twist and turns with a totally unexpected twist at the end!' -- ***** Reader review
*************************************************************************
THE MAUDE IS OUTSIDE.

IT WANTS TO COME IN.

IT WANTS TO SIT ON YOUR CHEST.

The patients at Beechway High Secure Unit are terrified. Unexplained power cuts have lead to a series of horrifying incidents. And now fear has spread from the inmates to the staff.

DI Jack Caffery is called to investigate, whilst working the most impossible case of his life.

Will he be able to stare pure evil in the eye, and survive?

Reviews

  • Hayder has a profound ability to shock and surprise her readers
    KARIN SLAUGHTER

About the author

Mo Hayder

MO HAYDER left school at fifteen. She worked as a barmaid, security guard, filmmaker, hostess in a Tokyo club, educational administrator and teacher of English as a foreign language in Asia. She had an MA in film from The American University in Washington DC and an MA in creative writing from Bath Spa University UK.

Mo was the Sunday Times bestselling author of ten stunning crime novels, including the Jack Caffery series. Her fifth crime novel Ritual was nominated for the Barry Award for Best Crime 2009 and voted Best Book of 2008 by Publisher's Weekly. She won the CWA Dagger in the Library in 2011. Gone, her seventh novel, won the Edgar Allen Poe Award and her novel Wolf was nominated for Best Novel in the 2015 Edgar Awards, and is currently being adapted for the BBC.

Set primarily in an alternate universe, her most recent novel, The Book of Sand, is the first in a series published posthumously under the author name THEO CLARE.

Mo Hayder was diagnosed with motor neurone disease in December 2020 and passed away in July 2021.

She leaves behind a husband and a daughter, a powerful legacy of books, and an incredible number of people who loved and admired her.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more