McLevy The Collected Editions: Series 3 & 4

McLevy The Collected Editions: Series 3 & 4

Nine episodes of the BBC Radio 4 series
Audio Download


Brian Cox stars as the Victorian detective in a further nine episodes of the BBC Radio 4 series

Inspired by the real-life memoirs of one of Scotland’s first policemen, James McLevy prowls the dark streets of 1860s Edinburgh bringing criminals to justice, with the assistance of Constable Mulholland.

Behind the Curtain: A theatrical landlady receives a chilling death threat.
A Voice from the Grave: Summertime, and the heat is on as McLevy tracks a brutal killer.
The Dark Shadow: A jewel theft brings an infamous criminal within McLevy’s grasp.
Servant of the Crown: The detective joins Her Majesty’s protection squad to hunt an assassin.
A Piece of Cake: A top chef is the toast of the city – but burglary and murder are on the menu.
The Sea Change: There’s something fishy about the Fair’s star attraction, the lovely Little Mermaid.
Sins of the Fathers: A runaway bridegroom and a blackmailer spell double trouble for McLevy.
The Devil’s Disguise: The Devil comes a-calling for the detective on Halloween.
Christmas Special: McLevy stalks a supernatural thief who is haunting the streets of Edinburgh.

Written by David Ashton, these atmospheric radio dramas co-star Siobhán Redmond as Jean Brash and Michael Perceval-Maxwell as Constable Mulholland.


  • It was consistently above the run of any mill. You could smell the fish, the whores and the cordite. This was everything afternoon radio was invented for.
    Euan Ferguson, The Guardian

About the author

David Ashton

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more