The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley

The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley

The spellbinding historical fiction mystery of one young man’s quest for the truth

Summary

'One of the best books I've read this year. Atmospheric, engaging, and elegantly written, this amazing tale of a clockmaker whose son possesses unusual talents is completely unforgettable...' Bonnie Garmus, LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY

A Sunday Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month, for fans of PANDORA, THE ESSEX SERPENT and THE NIGHT CIRCUS.
----

Zachary Cloudesley is gifted in a remarkable way. But not all gifts are a blessing...

Leadenhall Street, London, 1754.

Raised amongst the cogs and springs of his father's workshop, Zachary Cloudesley has grown up surrounded by strange and enchanting clockwork automata. He is a happy child, beloved by his father Abel and the workmen who help bring his father's creations to life.

He is also the bearer of an extraordinary gift; at the touch of a hand, Zachary can see into the hearts and minds of the people he meets.

But then a near-fatal accident will take Zachary away from the workshop and his family. His father will have to make a journey that he will never return from. And, years later, only Zachary can find out what happened.

A beautifully crafted historical mystery of love and hope, and the adventure of finding your place in the world.
-----

'A dashing, magical debut . . . intricately plotted, and peopled with intriguing characters' Daily Mail

'Fans of eccentrically flavoured historical fiction with a touch of magic are in for a treat' Metro

What readers are saying:
'an excellent historical, magical realist novel'
'beautifully written'
'full of love and humour'
'original and rich in historical detail'
'my best book of 2022'
'totally engrossing...unforgettable'

Reviews

  • Inventive, fantastical... memorable
    The Times

About the author

Sean Lusk

Sean Lusk is an award winning short story writer, winner of the Manchester Fiction Prize and the Fish Short Story Prize. He has lived in Greece, Pakistan and Egypt and now lives in the Scottish Highlands. The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley is his first novel.

You can find him at www.seanlusk.com or on Twitter @seanlusk1
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more