Listen for the Lie

Listen for the Lie

She has no idea if she murdered her best friend – and she’d do just about anything to find out…

Summary

Get ready to be obsessed with this funny and thrilling new murder mystery, perfect for fans of MURDER IN THE FAMILY by Cara Hunter, NONE OF THIS IS TRUE by Lisa Jewell, and HOW TO KILL YOUR FAMILY by Bella Mackie.

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
THE SUNDAY TIMES 'PICK OF THE MONTH'
WOMAN & HOME 'BOOK OF THE MONTH'
TOP TEN KINDLE BESTSELLER

'Dark comedy and darker thrills' - ALEX MICHAELIDES
'A world-class whodunit' - STEPHEN KING
'Edgy, thrilling, twisty - I loved it!' - LIANE MORIARTY
‘Smart, surprising and very funny - wickedly entertaining’ – SHARI LAPENA

Am I a murderer? You tell me . . .

My name is Lucy Chase, but you already know that. Yes, I’m the woman who doesn’t remember murdering her best friend.

You probably think I did it, too. I get it. Being found covered in her blood doesn’t exactly scream ‘innocent’.

Look, I’m as frustrated as you. I’d love to know if I’m a murderer – it’s something you really should know about yourself, right?

And now, thanks to true-crime podcast Listen for the Lie, I could finally have my answer. But how will I live with myself if it was me?

And if I didn't kill her, then who the hell did?


READERS ARE OBSESSED WITH LISTEN FOR THE LIE

'This book invented a whole new genre of crime-com! A dark story that perfectly balanced the fun and dark, and with a racing ending that will keep you in a tight grip.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Reader Review

'I just want everyone to read it. The author could write my council tax bill and I would love it.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Reader Review

'Everything about this book is brilliant' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Reader Review

'This novel was the perfection concoction of thrilling and humorous.' ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Reader Review


'An all-around perfect thriller!' - ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ Reader Review

Instant New York Times bestseller, March 2024
The Sunday Times Pick of the Month, March 2024
Woman & Home Book of the Month, March 2024
Top Ten Kindle Bestseller, April 2024

Reviews

  • ‘Edgy and scary, thrilling and twisty, laugh-out-loud funny. I loved it!'
    Liane Moriarty

About the author

Amy Tintera

Amy Tintera is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels for young adults. Her novels have been translated into 16 languages and sold into more than 20 territories. Listen for the Lie is her adult debut.

She earned degrees in journalism and film and worked in Hollywood before becoming an author. Raised in Austin, Texas, she frequently sets her novels in the Lone Star state.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more