Reviews

  • The first masterpiece in comic book history

    New Yorker
  • One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory

    Independent
  • A brutally moving work of art

    Boston Globe
  • In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving

    TimeOut
  • Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt

    New Yorker
  • An epic story told in tiny pictures

    New York Times
  • The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust

    Wall Street Journal
  • Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it

    Umberto Eco
  • A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event

    New York Times Book Review
  • The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust'

    New York Times