Hutchinson logo

One of the UK’s oldest publishing imprints, Hutchinson was the first publisher of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, EF Benson and HG Wells and continues to be the home of P.G. Wodehouse. Today, we publish fiction and non-fiction and love discovering new writing that is bold, entertaining and original. We champion books that engage with the way we are living and thinking now, as well as celebrating the brilliant storytelling of our established bestsellers like Robert Harris, Sebastian Faulks, the late Helen Dunmore and Paulo Coelho

Our recent non-fiction bestsellers include Tara Westover’s inspiring and internationally bestselling memoir, Educated; Pandora Sykes’ wide-ranging and incisive essay collection, How Do We Know We’re Doing It Right;  Erebus and North Korea Journal by Michael Palin; The Book of Joy by the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu; as well as Ikigai, The Power of Nunchi and Self-Care for the Real World. We’re very much looking forward to John Cleese’s book on Creativity and a memoir by the band, Bananarama, Really Saying Something. On our lifestyle list, we have Adrienne Herbert’s book based on her hit podcast, Power Hour and entrepreneur Grace Beverley’s Working Hard, Hardly Working. We are also proud to have published memoirs and diaries from Bill Clinton, Tony Blair, Tony Benn and Alastair Campbell

In fiction, Amor TowlesA Gentleman in Moscow has been an international bestseller; Andrew Hunter Murray’s debut novel, The Last Day was a global and Sunday Times bestseller and and Daisy Jones & The Six, both a Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller and winner of the Glass Bell Award, has been bought by Reese Witherspoon’s production company Hello Sunshine. Many of our debut authors have gained critical and commercial success: Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott’s dazzling Swan Song  and Carys Bray’s A Song for Issy Bradley to name just a couple. Our forthcoming debut fiction highlights include the lyrically original Before My Actual Heart Breaks by Tish Delaney, Jessamine Chan’s The School for Good Mothers, a feminist dystopian novel, and the extraordinarily compulsive debut novel by Nancy Tucker, The First Day of Spring

Recent Hutchinson authors

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising