The home of the best writing from around the world

Harvill Secker logo

Founded in 1910, Harvill Secker is the dynamic, international imprint at Vintage. Our books range from prizewinning literary fiction and non-fiction to bestselling crime and thrillers. Our writers include Haruki Murakami, Jo Nesbo, J.M. Coetzee, Imogen Hermes Gowar, Karl Ove Knausgaard, Ruth Ware, Louis de Bernières, Abir Mukherjee, Denise Mina, Tommy Orange, Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o and Édouard Louis.

We like to think that our list – in its range, engagement and energy – represents the shelf of a wide and curious reader.

Harvill Secker Young Translators Prize Logo

This year the focus language for the Harvill Secker Young Translators’ Prize is Bengali and entrants will translate the short story ‘Half-Timer Pawre’ by Shamik Ghosh, from his collection Elvis O Amolasundari.

Now in its ninth year, the Harvill Secker Young Translators’ Prize aims to encourage and support the next generation of literary translators. It is an annual prize, which focuses on a different language each year and is open to anyone between the ages of 18 and 34 with no more than one full-length translation previously published. There is no restriction on country of residence.

This year’s prize will be judged by renowned translator Arunava Sinha, anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam and Harvill Secker editor Mikaela Pedlow.

Harvill Secker is delighted to be continuing its partnership with The National Centre for Writing, and the winning translator will take part in a National Centre for Writing Emerging Translator Mentorship with translator Arunava Sinha.

As well as the mentorship, the winning translator will receive £1,000 and a selection of Harvill Secker books.

Deadline for entries: Tuesday 28 August 2018

Entry is now closed. The winner will be announced on 28 September at International Translation Day.

If you have any queries, please contact us at:

About Shamik Ghosh

SHAMIK GHOSH was born in Kolkata in 1983, and started writing from an early age. His first short story was published in eminent literary magazine Desh in 2003. After studying Physics at the University of Calcutta, he worked as a corporate banker in Ahmedabad and Mumbai. In 2014, he left his corporate job to pursue a creative career. His first collection of short stories Elvis O Amolasundari was published in India in 2016. He completed his first short film, Trapeze, in 2017.

In 2017, Shamik was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar, India’s National Academy of Letters Young Writers’ Prize, for his debut short story collection Elvis O Amolasundari (Elvis and Amolasundari), and he also received the Ila Chanda Smriti Puraskar for his work as an emerging Bengali fiction writer, a prize awarded by one of the oldest literary institutions in India, Bangiya Sahitya Parishad.

Shamik Ghosh

The Judges

Arunava Sinha
Arunava Sinha translates classic, modern and contemporary Bengali fiction, non-fiction and poetry from Bangladesh and India into English. More than 40 of his translations have been published so far. He is the series editor of the Library of Bangladesh, and he curates the India List for Seagull Books. He is the Books editor at, and he teaches undergraduate classes at Ashoka University.

Tahmima Anam
Tahmima Anam is an anthropologist and novelist. Her debut novel, A Golden Age, won the 2008 Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Book. In 2013, she was named one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. She is a Contributing Opinion Writer for The New York Times and a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2017, she was a recipient of the O. Henry Prize and featured in Best American Short Stories for her story ‘Garments’. Born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, she was educated at Mount Holyoke College and Harvard University, and now lives in London.

Mikaela Pedlow
Mikaela Pedlow is Assistant Editor at Harvill Secker, where she works with many international authors including Ismail Kadare, Ngugi wa Thiong’o, Per Petterson and Enrique Vila-Matas. Mikaela is the coordinator of the annual Harvill Secker Young Translators’ Prize.

Previous winners of the Young Translators’ Prize:

2010: ‘El hachazo’ by Matías Néspolo, translated from the Spanish by Beth Fowler

Publicity enquiries

Bethan Jones, Publicity Director

Bethan Jones
Head of Publicity, VINTAGE / Publicity Director (Harvill Secker & Yellow Jersey)