Reading lists

Jane Corry on 5 books to add to your summer reading list

'There’s a lot to be said for comfort reading.' From gripping crime to humour and comfort reads, The Sunday Times bestselling author of I Made a Mistake, Jane Corry picks five books for you to add to your summer reading list. 

test
The Dutch House

1. The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Ever since I moved to the coast, nearly eleven years ago, the sea has become a constant character in my books. Places aren’t just settings. They feel like people too. I think this is why I love The Dutch House so much. This family drama revolves around a glassy monstrosity or stunning architectural icon — whichever way you see it — which affects everyone who lives in it. To my shame, I had never read Ann Patchett before and now I am looking forward to reading more. Her gift of seeing through to the very heart of young Danny, who tells the story in the first person, has been an unexpected and welcome discovery to me during this strange time. 

Holiday Stories

2. Holiday Stories by Noel Streatfeild

There’s a lot to be said for comfort reading. This author brings back suburban summer childhood days spent in our only tree, reading Ballet Shoes.  Maybe that’s why I fell on this beautifully packaged new edition of short stories with excitement. I particularly enjoyed ‘Devon Mettle’ which starts like this: ‘Staying with Grandmother was an event, the loveliest bit of the summer, a glorious time.’ I can’t wait to share this with my own grandchildren when restrictions are lifted.

 

Someone at a Distance

5. Somone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple

First published in 1953, this is the kind of book which stays with you. It’s a deceptively quiet story about a deceived wife which delivers a powerful punch to the heart. Yet also leaves you with hope that true love still exists. I devoured this during a holiday in Capri.

Jane Corry's latest heart-in-mouth psychological thriller I Made a Mistake is out in May 2020. For fans of Nicci French, Lisa Jewell and Clare Mackintosh, Corry's novel is a truly addictive read following two women who make life changing mistakes. You can read an extract from her new thriller here.

Love these books? Sign up to Page Turners

Be the first to hear about our ebook deals, great prizes and books we think you'll love

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more