Reading lists

Where to start reading Rose Tremain’s books

rose_tremain_books

Rose Tremain's novels and short stories have been published in 30 countries and have won several awards, including the Orange Prize (The Road Home) and the Whitbread Novel of the Year (Music & Silence). Her stories transport readers through time and space, and she has created some of contemporary literature's best-loved and most memorable characters.

To celebrate the publication of her latest novel, Islands of Mercy, we've created a guide to help you find your perfect place to begin.

For fans of Bernardine Evaristo, Elizabeth Macneal or John Boyne
If you like the above authors, and books about how we find ourselves, even in the most unlikely of places and circumstances, why not try:

For fans of Imogen Hermes Gowar, Sarah Waters or Hilary Mantel
If you like the above authors, and brilliantly narrated character-driven historical fiction to light up the senses, why not try:

For fans of Bridget Collins, Maggie O'Farrell or Eleanor Catton
If you like these authors, and brilliant evocations of time and place that you can get totally lost in, then why not try:

For fans of Diane Setterfield, Garth Greenwell or Evie Wyld
If you like the above authors, and if you enjoy short stories that get to the heart of everything from love, loss, status, friendship and span across magnificent locations, then you'll enjoy:

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more