A photograph of Karl Ove Knausgaard's 'The Morning Star' against an orange background.

Karl Ove Knausgaard broke onto the international literary scene with his groundbreaking My Struggle novels, which have been heralded as masterpieces all over the world. From A Death in the Family to The End, the books move through childhood into adulthood and, together, form an enthralling portrait of a human life. This September sees the publication of The Morning Star, an extraordinary new novel exploring what happens when forces beyond our comprehension are unleashed, and the realms of the living and the dead collide.

The Morning Star (2021)

The Morning Star is Knausgaard's first work of fiction since My Struggle. Shifting away from his more autobiographical work, his astonishing new novel follows nine lives after the appearance of a huge star blazing in the sky, bringing with it a mysterious sense of horror-tinged foreboding...

A Death in the Family (2012)

Named one of the Guardian's 100 Best Books of the 21st Century, A Death in the Family is the first of the My Struggle novels. It's an addictive and searingly honest novel about childhood, family and grief. Writing about his childhood and teenage years, his infatuation with rock music, and his bewilderment and grief on his father's death, Knausgaard creates a universal story of the struggles, great and small, that we all face in our lives.


A Man in Love (2013)

A Man in Love – the second of the My Struggle novels – is a firm favourite with fans of the series. It's all about fresh starts, love and friendship. But it's also about the earth-shattering experience of becoming a father, the mundane struggles of family life, ridiculously unsuccessful holidays, humiliating antenatal music classes, fights with quarrelsome neighbours, the emotional strains of children’s birthday parties and pushing a pram around Stockholm when all you really want to do is write.

The End (2018)

The End brings the My Struggle cycle full circle. Knausgaard reflects on the fallout from the earlier books, whilst facing the pressures of literary acclaim and the sometimes shattering repercussions.

So Much Longing in So Little Space (2019)

In 2017, Knausgaard curated a major exhibition of Edvard Munch’s work at the Munch Museum in Oslo. In So Much Longing in So Little Space, he explores the artist’s life and work and reflects on the essence of creativity, on choosing to be an artist, experiencing the world through art and its influence on Knausgaard’s own writing.

Autumn (2017)

Featuring the artwork of Vanessa Baird, Autumn opens with a letter from Knausgaard to his unborn daughter. Writing a new piece each day, this tender and deeply personal book is the first of four volumes marvelling at the vast, unknowable universe around us.

Home and Away (2016)

Times and Evening Standard book of the year, Home and Away sees Knausgaard and fellow writer Fredrik Ekelund reflecting on life and death, art and politics, class and literature through the prism of football. Together, they try to answer that most important question: was the 2014 World Cup in Brazil the best championship ever?

In the Land of the Cyclops (2021)

In the Land of the Cyclops is Knausgaard’s first collection of essays to be published in English. He discusses Madame Bovary, the Northern Lights and Ingmar Bergman, and an array of writers and visual artists. These essays beautifully demonstrate his trademark self-scrutiny and his deep longing to authentically see, understand and experience the world.

  • The Morning Star

  • The breathtaking new novel from the internationally bestselling author of My Struggle

    'Knausgaard is among the finest writers alive.' New York Times

    One long night in August, Arne and Tove are staying with their children in their summer house in southern Norway. Kathrine, a priest, is flying home from a Bible seminar, questioning her marriage. Journalist Jostein is out drinking for the night, while his wife, Turid, a nurse at a psychiatric care unit, is on a nightshift when one of her patients escapes.

    Above them all, a huge star suddenly appears blazing in the sky. It brings with it a mysterious sense of foreboding.

    Strange things start to happen as nine lives come together under the star. Hundreds of crabs amass on the road as Arne drives at night; Jostein receives a call about a death metal band found brutally murdered in a Satanic ritual; Kathrine conducts a funeral service for a man she met at the airport - but is he actually dead?

    The Morning Star is about life in all its mundanity and drama, the strangeness that permeates our world, and the darkness in us all. Karl Ove Knausgaard's astonishing new novel goes to the utmost limits of freedom and chaos, to what happens when forces beyond our comprehension are unleashed, and the realms of the living and the dead collide.

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising