An image of the book Black Joy being help by a hand in front of a purple material background with purple fairy lights

To celebrate World Book Day, we are giving away 10 signed copies of Black Joy.

Five lucky winners will receive a hard copy of Black Joy signed by the talented Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff, plus an additional signed copy for a school library of their choice.

Black Joy is a celebration of black culture from 28 incredible writers.

Edited by award-winning journalist Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and up-and-coming talent Timi Sotire, join 28 inspirational voices in this uplifting and empowering anthology as they come together to celebrate being Black British, sharing their experiences of joy and what it means to them. With incredible stories and essays from; Diane Abbott, Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé, Munya Chawawa, Chanté Joseph, Vanessa Kisuule, Jason Okundaye, Leigh-Anne Pinnock, Timi Sotire, Sophia Tassew, and many more!

For your chance to win, enter below.

This competition is now closed

Terms & conditions

1. No purchase necessary to enter the prize draw. 

2. This competition is open to UK residents with the exception of employees of the Promoter, their families, agents, and anyone else connected with this promotion.

3. Entries must be received by 23:59 BST on 31st March 2022. The Promoter accepts no responsibility for any entries that are incomplete, illegible, corrupted, or fail to reach the Promoter by the relevant closing date for any reason. Proof of posting or sending is not proof of receipt. Automatically generated entries or entries via agents or third parties are invalid and shall not be considered. Entries become the property of the Promoter and are not returned.

4. Only one entry per person. No entrant may win more than one prize.

5. To enter fill in your details on the online form above and submit them using the button above.

6. All valid and correctly completed entries received by the closing date will be entered into a prize draw which will take place on 1st April 2022. There will be five winners chosen. The first five entries drawn at random will be winners.

7. The prize for the five winners is two signed copies of Black Joy – of which one copy will be for them and the other for a school library of their choice. 

8. Prizes are subject to availability. In the event of unforeseen circumstances, the Promoter reserves the right (a) to substitute alternative prizes of equivalent or greater value and (b) in exceptional circumstances to amend or foreclose the promotion without notice. No correspondence will be entered into.

9. The winners will be notified via email by 8th April 2022. The winner and runner-ups must claim their prize within 30 days of the Promoter sending notification. If the prize is unclaimed after this time, it will lapse and the Promoter reserves the right to offer the unclaimed prize to a substitute winner selected in accordance with these rules.

10. The promoter will use any data submitted by entrants only for the purposes of running the prize draw unless otherwise stated in the entry details. By entering this prize draw, all entrants consent to the use of their personal data by the Promoter for the purposes of the administration of this prize draw and any other purposes to which the entrant has consented.

11. By entering this competition, all entrants consent to the use of their personal data by the Promoter for the purposes of running the competition as detailed in these terms and conditions. Details on how we process the personal data of entrants can be found in our Privacy Policy.

12. The promoter may disqualify any entrant whose entry does not comply with these terms and conditions (in Promoter’s sole opinion) or who, in Promoter’s sole determination, has acted in a manner that is fraudulent, dishonest, or unjust to other entrants including, without limitation, tampering with the operation of the prize draw, manipulating or rigging votes, hacking, deceiving, cheating or by harassing or threatening other entrants or a representative of Promoter. 

13. The Promoter is Penguin Books Limited, The Random House Group Limited, One Embassy Gardens, 8 Viaduct Gardens, London, SW11 7BW

14. By entering the prize draw each entrant agrees to be bound by these terms and conditions.

15. These terms and conditions are governed in accordance with the laws of England and Wales

  • Black Joy

  • Black joy is . . .

    The babble and buzz of the barber shop.
    Chicken and chips after school with your girls.
    Stepping foot in your mother country for the very first time.
    Feeling at one with nature.
    Learning to cook souse with your mum.
    Connecting with the only other Black colleague in your workplace.
    Loving and finding complete happiness in your fatness.

    Joy surrounds us. It can be found it in the day to day. It's what we live for. So why do we so rarely allow ourselves to revel in it? This must-read anthology is your invitation to do so - and is a true celebration of Black British culture in all its glory.

    Edited by award-winning journalist, and former gal-dem editor-in-chief, Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and up-and-coming talent Timi Sotire, twenty-eight iconic voices speak on what Black joy means to them in this uplifting and empowering anthology.


    With essays from:

    Munya Chawawa -- Leigh-Anne Pinnock -- Diane Abbott -- Jason Okundaye --Bukky Bakray -- Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé -- Lavinya Stennett -- Henrie Kwushue Chanté Joseph -- Travis Alabanza -- Isaac James -- Sophia Tassew -- Lauryn Green -- Melz Owusu -- Timi Sotire -- Fope Olaleye -- Richie Brave -- Tope Olufemi -- Athian Akec -- Mikai Mcdermott -- Ife Grillo -- Rukiat Ashawe -- Mayowa Quadri -- Tobi Kyeremateng -- Haaniyah Angus -- Theophina Gabriel -- Ruby Fatimilehin -- Vanessa Kissule


    Discover this exciting, much-needed celebration of Black culture perfect for readers of Feminists Don't Wear Pink, Slay in Your Lane and Love in Colour.

    ---

    "A refreshing and invigorating burst of joy, exploring the beauty in the nuances of our existence, honing in on what propels us forward, and establishing a vital hope" - Bolu Babalola, author of Love in Colour

    "Every bit as joyous as the title suggests'" - Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

    "A rich, gorgeous celebration of the power in embracing joy" - Liv Little

    "Black Joy is a delightful celebration of Black Britishness" - Mashable


    Reader praise for Black Joy

    "This collection was INCREDIBLE. It made me laugh, made me cry and made me consider the joy there is to be found in the Black experience, something that is so often missing from media representations. I am not sure how else to review this book, apart from to say that everyone should read it. Everyone. 5 out of 5. Wonderful. Perfect. A breath of fresh air. A book that everyone needs." - Netgalley reviewer


    'Black Joy merits a wide readership. It is a window into a world that too often goes unseen and unheard. There is real joy out there. Count yourself lucky if you get to share it.' - Netgalley reviewer

    'Lots of beautiful memories and moments of joy. Recommended if you've always wanted a view into a different life or if you just want a little joy in your life for a while.' - Netgalley reviewer

    'Black Joy is a beautiful anthology, reminding us of where we find joy in our lives . . . An uplifting and informative read for young people and anyone looking for fresh perspectives on life and culture today.' - Netgalley reviewer

    'It's made apparent right away that Black joy is a fundamental act of resistance - an act of defiance against the ostensible prerequisite for pain before joy that faces the Black British community . . . a manifesto of sorts' - Netgalley reviewer

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising