Meet the illustrator: Nicola Slater

Born in the windy north of England to a family of cartoonists and painters, it’s no surprise that Nicola Slater has become a leading children’s book illustrator. Her status as a popcorn aficionado is another gift, but one with more uncertain origins.

Influenced by the likes of Charles Schulz, Mary Blair and The Muppet Show, Nicola was extremely excited to collaborate with Stuart Heritage on their new book Jonathan the Magic Pony. We caught up with her to talk about her favourite children’s book, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, and the magic trick she’d most like to learn.

  • Jonathan the Magic Pony

  • Giggle all the way to bedtime with Jonathan's bonkers, back-firing magic show!

    Fans of Supertato and Grumpycorn will love this super silly story about a one-trick pony whose one trick goes WRONG!

    Each wave of Jonathan's magic wand just makes things worse. It's Abraca-CHAOS!

    Is there anyone who can save the day?

    Join Jonathan, his long-suffering best friend Sarah, a very unwilling frog assistant and a cast of other crazy animals in this light-hearted picture book from Guardian columnist Stuart Heritage, illustrated by the brilliant Nicola Slater.

    A very funny book to encourage reading for pleasure.

  • Buy the book

Read more


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising