Liz Nugent, Cora Staunton and The Currabinny Cookbook win at the An Post Irish Book Awards 2018

There were four prizes in total for Penguin Random House Ireland at this year's An Post Irish Book Awards, with crime writer Liz Nugent taking home two prizes for Skin Deep.

Our winners at this year's Irish Book Awards

This year's An Post Irish Book Awards saw four prizes presented to Penguin Random House Ireland authors, including two awards for crime writer Liz Nugent for her novel Skin Deep. The Awards, which aim to celebrate the quality of Irish writing, are now in their thirteenth year, with the winners crowned at a star-studded awards ceremony at Dublin's Clayton Hotel.

Skin Deep, published by Penguin Ireland, was named Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year and also won the Listeners’ Choice Award, as voted for by listeners to RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show. The novel, which saw Liz return after the success of her bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club pick Lying in Wait, follows the story of Cordelia Russell, a supposed English socialite living on the French Riveria, who sees the arrival of a visitor from a distant past disrupting her run of good luck.

Skin Deep
Skin Deep

'Pure genius. Absolutely brilliant' Shari Lapena

'A twisted thriller, reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith' Ian Rankin

IBA Crime Fiction Book of the Year Winner 2018


From the No 1 bestselling author of Richard and Judy Book Club pick, Lying in Wait

She's not who you think she is ...

Delia O'Flaherty is as wild, remote and dangerous as her island home off the west coast of Ireland. Her adoring father tells her that one day she will be the Queen of Inishcrann.

However, tragedy leaves Delia alone in the world, to make her way relying on her wits and her rare beauty. But Delia's beauty is deceptive - as anyone who cares about her eventually finds out.

What is the truth behind Delia's tragic past? And what happens when a face from that past turns up on her doorstep?

WINNER of the Dead Good Books Award for the Book That You Can't Put Down!

'Bloody brilliant!' Denise Mina

'Extraordinary' A.J. Finn

'The finest psychological thriller writer currently at work' Tammy Cohen

'Dark, brutal and brilliant' Colette McBeth

'Absorbing, beautifully written' The Times, Crime Books of the Year

'Every bit as amazing as her first two [novels]' Lisa Jewell

'Dazzling ... chilling, mesmerising and, ultimately, devastating. Pure storytelling genius' Mark Edwards
The Currabinny Cookbook
The Currabinny Cookbook
Cookbook of the Year, Irish Book Awards 2018
Cookbook of the Year, Listowel Food Fair 2018
Irish Times Best Cookbooks 2018
Top Cookbooks 2018, Sunday Times
Best Books of 2018, Sunday Independent
Books of the Year 2018, Irish Independent

'The book exudes a love of food ... there are lots of good things to explore inside' Darina Allen, Irish Examiner

In five years selling at farmers' markets and hosting dining events and pop-ups, James Kavanagh and William Murray's food business, Currabinny, has grown a huge fan-base. James and William celebrate traditional ingredients (butter, cream, sea-salt and the best of fresh and local produce), give them a modern twist, and always produce indulgent delicious dishes.

The Currabinny Cookbook includes their favourite recipes. From breakfast ideas (Macroom Oatmeal with Saturn Peaches, Pomegranate & Raw Honey) to sumptuous suppers (Rustic Rye Galette with Leeks, Fennel and Goats Cheese; Slow Roasted Salmon with Blood Orange, Lemon, Fennel & Dill; Ham in Juniper & Apple Juice with Mustard Parsnip Mash and Buttered Cabbage) and sweet treats (Apple, Rosemary & Buttermilk Cake; Fresh Blueberry Pie with Lemon Curd Cream) this book is a one-stop bible of delicious, comforting and irresistible recipes.

'Has set the foodie world on fire ... it's easy to see why. Easy to make but jam-packed with flavour. We're obsessed' WellFest blog

'A handsome collection of recipes using traditional, seasonal ingredients, given a contemporary slant' Irish Times

'A lovely book of recipes' Sunday Times

'The book is a beauty to behold, packed with the best of Irish seasonal products in recipes given a novel and contemporary touch' Irish Examiner

'It's a blast to come across this sweet book of delicious home cooking' Cookbooks of 2018, John & Sally McKenna, McKennas' Guides

'Their enthusiasm and irreverence leaps from the pages just as much as their flair in the kitchen ... the book is beautiful with delicate illustrations and tempting photographs' Sunday Independent

'A delicious fusion of traditional and modern food' Irish Country Magazine

'The pair have a serious love for food ... accessible for cooks of all levels and the images are absolutely gorgeous' Food & Wine Magazine
'They've thought of everything when it comes to the cookbook, beautiful images [and] good food' Image Magazine

'The prettiest Irish cookbook this autumn' Irish Independent

'Brilliant recipes ... really lovely ... I'm definitely going to be making a lot of stuff out of it' Roisin Ingle, Irish Times

'Delicious dishes and gorgeous recipes' Stellar

'A gorgeous contemporary cookbook - full of traditional recipes with a twist' Irish Examiner

'A complete winner!'

'The bookshelves are heaving with culinary content but one stood out from the crowd ... The Currabinny Cookbook' Irish Farmers Journal, books of the year

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more