Find your next read

The books on our desk...

The Ladybird Book of The Big Night Out (Ladybird for Grown-Ups)

Jason Hazeley (and others)

THE PERFECT GIFT for the party animal . . . or at the very least, for that person you know who doesn't know when it's time to go home.

Every so often, it is nice to have a big night out.

It is important to let your hair down.

And for a friend to hold it out of the way later while you are sick.

_____________


Mandy has been looking forward to her big night out all week.

She dances and drinks and laughs and sings. She feels like herself for the first time in days.

Tomorrow every single thing she remembers doing will embarrass her to the point of physical agony.

Mandy hates the real Mandy.

This delightful book is the latest in the series of Ladybird books which have been specially planned to help grown-ups with the world about them.

The large clear script, the careful choice of words, the frequent repetition and the thoughtful matching of text with pictures all enable grown-ups to think they have taught themselves to cope. Featuring original Ladybird artwork alongside brilliantly funny, brand new text.

'Hilarious' Stylist

The Language of Kindness

Christie Watson

Christie Watson was a nurse for twenty years. Taking us from birth to death and from A&E to the mortuary, The Language of Kindness is an astonishing account of a profession defined by acts of care, compassion and kindness.

We watch Christie as she nurses a premature baby who has miraculously made it through the night, we stand by her side during her patient’s agonising heart-lung transplant, and we hold our breath as she washes the hair of a child fatally injured in a fire, attempting to remove the toxic smell of smoke before the grieving family arrive.

In our most extreme moments, when life is lived most intensely, Christie is with us. She is a guide, mentor and friend. And in these dark days of division and isolationism, she encourages us all to stretch out a hand.

The Snowman

Jo Nesbo (and others)

NOW A MAJOR FILM STARRING MICHAEL FASSBENDER

36 MILLION BOOKS SOLD WORLDWIDE

Soon the first snow will come

A young boy wakes to find his mother missing. Outside, he sees her favourite scarf – wrapped around the neck of a snowman.

And then he will appear again

Detective Harry Hole soon discovers that an alarming number of wives and mothers have gone missing over the years.

And when the snow is gone…

When a second woman disappears, Harry’s worst suspicion is confirmed: a serial killer is operating on his home turf.

…he will have taken someone else

The House

Simon Lelic

Need the perfect stocking filler for the discerning thriller fan?
*THE OBSERVER THRILLER BOOK OF THE MONTH*
*A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK*
*Over 100 5* reviews*

----------------------------------------
The perfect couple. The perfect house.
...The perfect crime.

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door.

AND NOW THE POLICE ARE WATCHING THEM.

This thriller will hook you and not let you go. Perfect for fans of He Said / She Said, and The Couple Next Door

----------------------------------------

What authors and readers are saying:

'DELICIOUSLY DARK AND CLEVER WITH A SATISFYING TWIST. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Mark Edwards

'AN INTRICATE AND POWERFUL THRILLER' Tana French

'HUGELY GRIPPING AND SPOOKY AS HELL' Mark Billingham

'TAUGHT, TENSE AND TERRIFYING, I LOVED IT' Sharon Bolton

'O.M.G . I just devoured this gem...Perfect execution of a psychological thriller right here.' Reader review

'A brilliantly tense and shocking thriller. I literally couldn't put it down!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones

'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

'A bundle of creepy chills, perfectly timed for Halloween . . . Read it' Thriller of the Month, The Observer

'Deeply creepy . . . This clever, twisting plot, told in convincing voices, will haunt you in the very best way' The Sunday Mirror'

An intriguing and suspenseful read' Cath Staincliffe

'Brilliantly dark and gripping...Plays on the fundamental fear that the building blocks of our existence - home, relationships, family - may not be as secure as we like to think' Thomas Mogford

'Clearly influenced by the great Alfred Hitchcock, this is not so much a ghost story as an homage to the master's expert touch with dread' Daily Mail

'Creepy and totally gripping. A real page-turner. I loved it' Claire McGowan

.

Never miss a story...

Join the best-read newsletter in town
 

.

Complement your reading life

shop the collection

.

.