Richard Powers

The Gold Bug Variations
  • The Gold Bug Variations

  • An enthralling story about desire, new love and the mysteries of science from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Overstory

    Stuart Ressler, a brilliant biologist, sets out in 1957 to crack the genetic code. His efforts are sidetracked by other, more intractable codes – social, moral, musical, spiritual – and he falls in love with a member of his research team.

    Years later, another young man and woman team up to investigate a different mystery – why did the eminently promising Ressler suddenly disappear from the world of science?

    Strand by strand, these two love stories twist about each other in a double helix of desire.

    ‘A love story of charm and substance, brimming over with ideas, yet anchored in emotional truth’ Sunday Telegraph

Richard Powers is the author of twelve novels, including Orfeo (which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize), The Echo Maker, The Time of Our Singing, Galatea 2.2 and Plowing the Dark. He is the recipient of a MacArthur grant and the National Book Award, and has been a Pulitzer Prize and four-time NBCC finalist. He lives in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains.

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising