Hjalmar Soderberg

Doctor Glas
  • Doctor Glas


    '[A] searing masterwork of Northern European literature. The retrieval of Doctor Glas in English is a bracing gift to hungry readers' Susan Sontag

    Lonely and introspective, Doctor Glas has long felt an instinctive hostility toward the odious local minister. So when the minister’s beautiful wife complains of her husband’s oppressive sexual attentions, Doctor Glas finds himself contemplating murder.

    Stark, brooding, and enormously controversial when first published in 1905, this astonishing novel juxtaposes impressions of fin-de-siècle Stockholm against the psychological landscape of a man besieged by obsession.

Hjalmar S-derberg, 1869-1941, was a civil servant and then a journalist before becoming a full-time writer. His novels include Martin Birck's Youth (1901), Doctor Glas (1905) - widely regarded as his masterpiece - and The Serious Game (1912). S-derberg's play Gertrud (1906) was made into a film by Carl Dreyer.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising