Pinckney Benedict

Town Smokes
  • Town Smokes

  • A collection of nine short stories set in the American South, depicted as odd and idiosyncratic. Emerging from the harsh realities of difficult lives, the stories are full of the violence of love and the love of violence. The author won the 1995 Steinbeck Award for "Dogs of God".

Pinckney Benedict was born in 1964, attended Princeton University and graduated from the creative writing programme at the University of Iowa. He currently lives in West Virginia on the family dairy farm where he grew up. He is the author of another collection of stories, The Wrecking Yard, and a novel, Dogs of God, for which he won the Steinbeck Award.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising