V S Naipaul

A House For Mr Biswas
  • A House For Mr Biswas

  • In the comic masterpiece which established him one of the greatest writers in the English language, Naipaul follows the fortunes of Mr Biswas, the outsider who refuses to conform to the customs of his grander in-laws whose house he lives in. Finally finding a house of his own, he triumphs over the smaller minds who would repress him.

V.S. Naipaul was born in Trinidad in 1932. Since he started writing in 1954 he has won many prizes including the booker prize for the novel In a Free State (1971). Among his works of non-fiction are Among the Believers: An Islamic Journey (1981); Finding the Centre (1984); and A Turn in the South (1989). His novels include Guerillas, A Bend in the River and The Enigma of Arrival.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising