Ingmar Bergman

Private Confessions
  • Private Confessions

  • The final novel in world renowned film-maker, Ingmar Bergman’s trilogy of novels plotting the fractious marriage of his parents

    Twelve years of marriage, three children, a husband, Henrik, with whom she no longer finds anything in common: Anna is at the end of her tether. Besides, she’s in love – with Henrik’s friend Tomas, a student-priest, who is everything her husband is not.

    Based upon film-maker, Ingmar Bergman’s own family life, Personal Confessions is the final part in Bergman’s loose trilogy of books that started with The Best Intentions and Sunday’s Children.

Ingmar Bergman was born in Uppsala, Sweden in 1918. He wrote or directed more than 170 theatrical productions and 60 films, including The Seventh Seal, Wild Strawberries, Persona and Fanny and Alexander, and he is widely-regarded as one of the greatest film-makers of the 20th century. Bergman’s trilogy of books – The Best Intentions, Sunday’s Children, and Private Confessions – is based on the life of his parents, and details his own upbringing in early 20th-century Sweden. Bergman died in 2007.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising