Alexander McCall Smith

The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency: BBC Radio Casebook Vol.5
  • The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency: BBC Radio Casebook Vol.5

  • The fifth and final collection of BBC Radio 4 dramatisations, adapted by Alexander McCall Smith from his own bestselling books

    'Touching, rhythmic, and laugh-out-loud hilarious' AudioFile Magazine

    'Must-listen...beautifully cast, precisely timed, simply wonderful.' Daily Telegraph

    Botswana's best - and only - lady detective, Precious Ramotswe, returns for one last time to solve some surprising and challenging cases, aided as ever by the invaluable Mma Makutsi (and copious cups of red bush tea...)

    The first two-part story, The Fat Cattle Club and Precious and Grace, sees Mma Ramotswe and her dauntless Co-Director tasked by a Canadian lady, Susan Peters, to find her childhood home and her old nursemaid, Rosie. They must also extricate Mr Polopetsi from a dodgy business scheme, and try to solve the problem of Fanwell's stray dog - all while waiting for the rain to come.

    In the second 2-parter, The House of Unexpected Sisters and The Colours of All the Cattle, the Agency investigates a saleswoman's claims of unfair dismissal. Meanwhile, Mma Ramotswe discovers an unknown relative and a family mystery, and reluctantly agrees to stand for election to the local council...

    Featuring joyful African music and a superb cast, these delightful, warm-hearted dramatisatations star Janice Acquah as Mma Ramotswe, with Nadine Marshall as Mma Makutsi, Joseph Marcell as Mr JLB Matekoni, Steve Toussaint as Mr Polopetsi and Sarah Niles as Mma Potokwani.

    Production credits
    Written and dramatised by Alexander McCall Smith
    Directed by Gaynor MacFarlane (The Fat Cattle Club, Precious and Grace) and Eilidh McCreadie (The House of Unexpected Sisters, The Colours of All the Cattle)
    A BBC Radio Scotland production

    The Fat Cattle Club/Precious and Grace
    Mma Ramotswe - Janice Acquah
    Mma Makutsi - Nadine Marshall
    Mr JLB Matekoni - Ben Onwukwe
    Mr Polopetsi - Steve Toussaint
    Mma Potokwani/Bandie/Violet Sephotho - Sarah Niles
    Susan Peters - Barbara Barnes
    Mma Rosie/Mma Kentse/Neighbour - Eleanor Crooks
    Fanwell/Cool - Kedar Williams-Stirling
    Bishop/Superintendant Bogosi/Baker - Jude Akuwudike
    First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 19-20 July 2017

    The House of Unexpected Sisters/The Colours of All the Cattle
    Mma Ramotswe - Janice Acquah
    Mma Makutsi - Nadine Marshall
    Mr JLB Matekoni/Chairman - Ben Onwukwe
    Mr Polopetsi - Steve Toussaint
    Mma Potokwani - Sarah Niles
    Charity/Neighbour - Saffron Coomber
    Charity's mother/Mma Gopalang - Lorna Gayle
    Stephen/John - Jason Barnett
    Mingie Ramotswe - Debbie Korlay
    Charlie - Maynard Eziashi
    First broadcast BBC Radio 4, 16-23 September 2019

    © 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
    (p) 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

Alexander McCall Smith is one of the world's most prolific and most popular authors. His career has been a varied one: for many years he was a professor of Medical Law and worked in universities in the United Kingdom and abroad. Then, after the publication of his highly successful No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, which has sold over twenty million copies, he devoted his time to the writing of fiction and has seen his various series of books translated into over forty-six languages and become bestsellers through the world. These include the Scotland Street novels, first published as a serial novel in The Scotsman, the Isabel Dalhousie novels, the Von Igelfeld series, and the Corduroy Mansions series, novels which started life as a delightful (but challenging to write) cross-media serial, written on the website of the Telegraph Media Group. This series won two major cross-media awards - Association of Online Publishers Digital Publishing Award 2009 for a Cross Media Project and the New Media Age award. In addition to these series, Alexander writes stand-alone books, including The Forever Girl; Fatty O'Leary's Dinner Party and Emma - a reworking of the classic Jane Austen novel. He is also the author of a book on Edinburgh, A Work of Beauty: Alexander McCall Smith's Edinburgh, as well as several collections of short stories, academic works, and over thirty books for children. He has received numerous awards for his writing, including the British Book Awards Author of the Year Award in 2004 and a CBE for service to literature in 2007. He holds honorary doctorates from nine universities in Europe and North America. In March of 2011 he received an award from the President of Botswana for his services through literature to that country. Alexander McCall Smith lives in Edinburgh. He is married to a doctor and has two daughters.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising