Val Wood

Four Sisters
  • Four Sisters

  • Hull, 1852.

    Matty has been the mother to her three younger sisters since their mother’s death 10 years ago. To celebrate her 18th birthday, their father takes all four sisters on holiday where two painters offer to immortalise their happiness forever.

    But their joy is short-lived, a little while after they return home tragedy strikes: their father is hit by a horse whilst on his way to London and critically injured. The sisters have no way of knowing what has happened to him. With little money of their own, they’re forced to battle life’s misfortunes alone.

    A powerful story about the bond of sisterhood and how it can triumph against any adversity, from the Sunday Times bestselling author Val Wood.

RELEASED 28/11/2019

Since winning the Catherine Cookson Prize for Fiction for her first novel, The Hungry Tide, Val Wood has become one of the most popular authors in the UK. Born in the mining town of Castleford, Val came to East Yorkshire as a child and has lived in Hull and rural Holderness where many of her novels are set. She now lives in the market town of Beverley. When she is not writing, Val is busy promoting libraries and supporting many charities. In 2017 she was awarded an honorary doctorate by the University of Hull for service and dedication to literature. Find out more about Val Wood's novels by visiting her website: