Anna Hope

Expectation
  • Expectation

  • ___________________

    'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' Sarah Franklin
    'Will resonate with approximately 99 % of women' RED MAGAZINE summer pick

    Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry – and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.

    Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?

    EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.

    FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DIANA EVANS, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND FLEABAG

    ___________________

    'An intimate and touching portrayal of female friendship that shows it's okay to just be' Nina Pottell

    'Exceptional, gorgeously written, and reads like a love letter to London. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of The Familiars

    'Absolutely encapsulates what it means to be a young woman today, and beyond' Grazia

    ‘A generation-defining book, honest and relatable on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like NORMAL PEOPLE with female friendship under the microscope.’ ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of He Said/She Said

    'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING

    'Few novels leave me genuinely breathless with their brilliance. EXPECTATION is one of them' Hannah Beckerman

RELEASED 11/07/2019

ANNA HOPE studied at Oxford University and RADA. She is the acclaimed author of Wake and The Ballroom. Her contemporary fiction debut, Expectation, explores themes of love, lust, motherhood, and feminism, while asking the greater question of what defines a generation. She lives in Sussex with her husband and young daughter.