Ellis Peters

Brother Cadfael: A BBC Radio Collection of three full-cast dramatisations
  • Brother Cadfael: A BBC Radio Collection of three full-cast dramatisations

    • Ellis Peters

    • Douglas Hodge (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    • Michael Hordern (Read by)

    • Michael Kitchen (Read by)

    • Philip Madoc (Read by)

    • Susannah York (Read by)

    Three BBC radio dramatisations of Ellis Peters' much-loved medieval murder mysteries featuring monk-cum-sleuth Brother Cadfael

    A onetime Crusader turned Benedictine monk, Brother Cadfael is a most unusual detective. Living a quiet life as a monastery herbalist, he spends his days ministering to his brothers using the medical skills he acquired in the Holy Lands - but his worldly knowledge and wide experience of human nature are frequently called upon when there is a murder to solve...

    Monk's Hood
    Brother Cadfael is asked to supply a healing potion for a sick monk - but monk's hood oil can kill as well as cure...

    The Virgin in the Ice
    In the winter of 1139, Cadfael sets out through snowbound Shropshire to find a missing boy and his sister.

    Dead Man's Ransom
    1141. Beyond the walls of the abbey, civil war rages. When news arrives that Sheriff Gilbert Prestcote has been taken prisoner, a hostage exchange is arranged - but love and murder intervene...

    Starring Philip Madoc as Cadfael, with supporting casts including Michael Hordern, Michael Kitchen and Susannah York, these thrilling tales of murder, mystery and intrigue bring the turbulent world of 12th Century Shrewsbury superbly to life.

    Monk's Hood
    Brother Cadfael - Philip Madoc
    Narrator - Michael Hordern
    Brother Mark - Ian Targett
    Fr Heribert - Timothy Bateson
    Prior Robert - Geoffrey Whitehead
    Meurig - Kenneth Price
    Richildis Bonel - Pat Heywood
    Brother Rhys/Judge - Norman Jones
    Aelfric - Mark Straker
    Brother Edmund - Timothy Carlton
    Brother Petrus - Fraser Kerr
    Brother Jerome - Andrew Wincott
    Sergeant - Ian Hogg
    Aldith - Jane Whittenshaw
    Sibil Bellecote - Petra Markham
    Edwy Bellecote - Stephen Garlick
    Edwin Gurney - Richard Pearce
    Hugh Beringar - Alan Barker
    Ifor ap Morgan - Michael Turner
    Brother Barnabas - Terence Edmond
    Groom - Nigel Carrington
    Dramatised by Bert Coules
    Produced by Lissa Evans
    First broadcast in 1991.

    The Virgin in the Ice
    Brother Cadfael - Philip Madoc
    Narrator - Michael Hordern
    Hugh Beringar - Douglas Hodge
    Olivier - Raad Rawi
    Ermina - Moira Buffini
    Ives - Dean Magri
    Abbot Radulfus - John Church
    Leonard - Leonard Fenton
    Elyas - Crispin Letts
    Boterel - Andrew Wincott
    Button - Eric Allan
    Porter - Steve Hodson
    Le Gaucher - Peter Laird
    Axeman/Sergeant - Peter Gunn
    Outlaw - Jonathan Adams
    Sergeant - Jonathan Tafler
    With David Holt, Ann Windsor, Julian Rhind-Tutt, John Fleming and Kate Binchy
    Dramatised by Bert Coules
    Produced by Phil Clarke
    Music by Peter Salem
    First broadcast in 1992.

    Dead Man's Ransom
    Brother Cadfael - Philip Madoc
    Sister Magdalen - Susannah York
    Hugh Beringar - Jonathan Tafler
    Elis - Jason Hughes
    Radulfus - Trevor Peacock
    Herbard/Edmund/Ithel - Shaun Prendergast
    Aline - Lorien Haynes
    Lad/Villager - David Holt
    Narrator - Michael Kitchen
    Melicent - Katy Odey
    Prince Owain - Sion Probert
    Cristina - Siobhan Flynn
    Eliud - Mark Lewis Jones
    Maurice/Rhys/Griffri - Douglas Blackwell
    Anion - Matthew Morgan
    Dramatised by Bert Coules
    Produced by Neil Cargill
    Music by Peter Salem
    First broadcast in 1995.

Ellis Peters (Author) Ellis Peters is the nom de plume used by author Edith Pargeter to write her bestselling 'Brother Cadfael' historical mysteries. Inspired by her interest in Shropshire history, she penned the first novel, A Morbid Taste for Bones, in 1977. This was followed by seventeen more novels and one book of short stories starring the crusader turned monk with a talent for detection. In 1993, she was awarded the Crime Writers' Association Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement, and in 1999 the CWA established the Ellis Peters Historical Dagger Award (for the best historical crime novel of the year) in her honour. She was awarded an OBE in 1994 for services to literature. Ellis Peters died in 1995, aged 82.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising