Ngaio Marsh

The Ngaio Marsh BBC Radio Collection
  • The Ngaio Marsh BBC Radio Collection

    • Ngaio Marsh

    • Jeremy Clyde (Read by)

    • Stephen Thorne (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    A collection of the BBC’s dramatisations of Ngaio Marsh’s most famous sleuth: Chief Inspector Roderick Alleyn.

    This collection would include the following works by Ngaio Marsh:

    A Man Lay Dead - The gentleman detective tackles a country house party murder.

    A Surfeit of Lampreys - Gentleman sleuth Inspector Alleyn probes a grisly death of the head of a spendthrift aristocratic family.

    Opening Night - When a leading actor is found gassed in his dressing room, it looks like suicide. But it transpires he was so detested that everyone had a motive for his murder.

    When In Rome - 1970s Rome. Chief Detective Inspector Alleyn is incognito and on the trail of a vast drugs syndicate - and some exceptionally unsavoury blackmail. But he hasn't reckoned on murder.

Ngaio Marsh (Author) Ngaio Marsh was a New Zealand author best known for her 32 Golden Age detective novels featuring Chief Detective Inspector Roderick Alleyn. She is widely regarded as one of the 'Queens of Crime', along with Agatha Christie, D. L. Sayers and Margery Allingham. In 1948, she received an OBE, and in 1966 she became a Dame of the British Empire for services to theatre and literature in New Zealand. She was awarded a Grand Master Award for lifetime achievement as a detective novelist from the Mystery Writers of America in 1978. Marsh died in Christchurch, New Zealand, in 1982. Her last novel, Light Thickens, was published posthumously the same year.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising