Sara Paretsky

V.I. Warshawski: A BBC Radio Collection
  • V.I. Warshawski: A BBC Radio Collection

    • Sara Paretsky

    • Kathleen Turner (Read by)

    • Buffy Davis (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    • Liza Ross (Read by)

    • Sharon Gless (Read by)

    • Eleanor Bron (Read by)

    • Martin Shaw (Read by)

    BBC radio productions of the first four bestselling V.I. Warshawski novels from Sara Paretsky - plus a short story featuring the hardboiled PI, read by Buffy Davis

    One of the most popular female sleuths in modern crime fiction, Chicago private eye V.I. Warshawski is a strong, smart, independent heroine in a male-dominated world. She tracks down corrupt businessmen, ruthless blackmailers and cold-blooded murderers - while trying not to get killed herself.

    Indemnity Only
    The first novel in the V.I. Warshawski series introduces one of the world's best-loved private detectives. V.I. meets an anonymous client on a sizzling summer night, but soon discovers that he has been lying to her. As she questions his motives, she sinks deeper into Chicago's underworld of gangsters, insurance fraud and contract killings. Read by Liza Ross.

    At the funeral of her cousin, ice hockey hero Boom Boom, V.I. becomes suspicious that his death wasn't an accident. Her investigation leads her to the heart of Chicago's shipping industry, where someone powerful will stop at nothing to get her off the case. A full-cast dramatisation, adapted by Michelene Wandor and starring Kathleen Turner.

    Killing Orders
    When forged share certificates are discovered at a Dominican priory, V.I. really doesn't want to get involved. Because agreeing to investigate would mean doing a favour for Aunt Rosa, who hates her - and the feeling's mutual. A full-cast dramatisation, adapted by Michelene Wandor and starring Kathleen Turner.

    Bitter Medicine
    Private eye V.I. Warshawski suspects all is not well at a hospital after a young pregnant girl dies. A full-cast dramatisation, adapted by Michelene Wandor and starring Sharon Gless.

    Publicity Stunts
    V.I. Warshawski is being set up for a murder she didn't commit - of a woman she hardly knew. Can she find out the truth before the law closes in on her? Read by Buffy Davis.

Sara Paretsky is the internationally bestselling author of the 'V.I. Warshawski' series of mysteries. The first book, Indemnity Only, was published in 1982 and contributed to revolutionising the perception of women in crime novels. Along with other pioneering detective writers such as Sue Grafton, Paretsky blazed a trail for a host of later crime novelists and their strong female protagonists. Paretsky's books have been translated into almost 30 languages and sold over 10 million copies. She has won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers' Association Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement in 2002 and a Gold Dagger for Best Novel in 2004 (for Blacklist), and in 2011 she received an Edgar Grand Master Award for exceptional achievements in the mystery field - the highest honour awarded by the Mystery Writers of America.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising