Tim Key

Alexei Sayle’s The Absence of Normal: Series 1 and 2
  • Alexei Sayle’s The Absence of Normal: Series 1 and 2

    • Alexei Sayle

    • Alexei Sayle (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    • Peter Capaldi (Read by)

    • Peter Serafinowicz (Read by)

    • Tim Key (Read by)

    • Tim McInnerny (Read by)

    • Hugh Quarshie (Read by)

    • George Fouracres (Read by)

    • Maxine Peake (Read by)

    • Paul Barber (Read by)

    Eight dark comic dramas narrated by Alexei Sayle and adapted from his original short stories

    Dramatised from Alexei Sayle's hilarious, highly-acclaimed fiction, these satirical, surreal and surprising tales feature some of the UK's foremost comic actors, and are introduced by the award-winning comedian himself.

    The Only Man Stalin Was Afraid Of- Summoned to treat his old friend, Stalin's psychiatrist is faced with an ethical dilemma. Starring Peter Capaldi, Freya Parker and Peter Serafinowicz.

    Banner Bright - 1968. Five students meet during an art school occupation, and create an inspirational protest banner they believe will change the world. Starring Ben Crompton, George Fouracres, Kath Hughes, Tim Key and Nimisha Odedra.

    The Minister for Death - A Liverpudlian pensioner foils a would-be mugger - and rekindles his lust for murder... Starring Paul Barber, Lewis MacLeod, Shaun Mason, Freya Parker and Frances Tomelty.

    The Last Woman Killed In The War - Returning to Liverpool after 40 years of exile, Mary finds that much has changed during her absence. Starring Adi Alfa, Katy Carmichael, Shaun Mason, Jan Ravens and Paislie Reid.

    Clive Hole - An indecisive TV commissioner comes under pressure from two dogged producers determined to get their screenplay made. Starring Katheryn Drysdale, Graham Duff, George Fouracres, Georgie Glenn, Tim McInnerny, Alice McMillan and Duncan Wisbey.

    Barcelona Chairs- Frustrated architect 'rupert' embeds himself in Tony Blair's Labour government while trying to design the perfect, ultra-minimalist home for his family. Starring Ambika Mod, Hugh Quarshie and Siobhan Redmond.

    The Nameless Park- Jade loves the neglected park near her house, and often takes her wheelchair-user brother for trips around its paths. But when Jason becomes critically ill, she makes a devastating discovery. Starring Louis Emerick, George Fouracres, Shaun Mason, Alice McMillan and Claire Sweeney.

    Locked Out - Unexpectedly stuck outside her Central London home, Katherine realises how little she knows about her neighbours' lives, and the strange and apparently sinister things they get up to... Starring Maxine Peake.

    Written and narrated by Alexei Sayle
    Adapted for radio by Alexei Sayle and Graham Duff
    Produced by Joe Nunnery
    Photo: Matt Stronge
    A BBC Studios Production
    First broadcast on BBC Radio 4, 25 February-25 March 2019 (Series 1) and 10-31 March 2021 (Series 2)

    © 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
    (p) 2021 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

Tim Key, Stefan Golaszewski, Tom Basden and Lloyd Woolf are the members of the comedy quartet Cowards. They began working as a four-man group in 2004, and had sell-out runs at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival in 2005 and 2006. Their first radio appearance was on the BBC Radio 1 show The Milk Monitors, and they were soon given their first radio series, broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 2007. A second series was transmitted in 2008, and a three-part TV series followed on BBC Four in 2009. Nominated for a BAFTA Scotland Award for Best Entertainment, it was popular with critics and audiences alike.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising