Jo Jakeman

Safe House
  • Safe House

  • SHE LIED TO PROTECT A KILLER. COULD SHE BE THE NEXT VICTIM?

    ‘Suffused with menace’ Sunday Mirror

    ‘You’ll be gripped’ Heat

    The morning after a terrible storm, a woman turns up in a remote Cornish village. She calls herself Charlie, but it's a name she's only had for a few days. She keeps herself to herself, reluctant to integrate with the locals. Because Charlie has a secret.

    Charlie was in prison for providing a false alibi for a murderer. But Lee Fisher wasn't a murderer to her; he was the man she loved. Convinced of his innocence, Charlie said she was with him the night a young woman was killed.

    And now she has a chance to start again. But someone is watching her, waiting for her, wondering if she's really paid the price for what she did…

    Perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Alex Michaelides and Harriet Tyce

    'An excellent, page-turning psychological suspense novel . . . Kept me guessing to the end' Jenny Quintana, author of The Missing Girl

    ‘Clever plotting, a hugely confident sense of place, and more suspects than you can shake a stick at’ Caz Frear, bestselling author of Sweet Little Lies

    'Revenge is a dish served with lashings of relish in this vivid, blackly comic suspense novel' Louise Candlish on Sticks and Stones

RELEASED 14/05/2020

Jo Jakeman was the winner of the Friday Night Live 2016 competition at the York Festival of Writing. Born in Cyprus, she worked for many years in the City of London before moving to Derbyshire with her husband and twin boys. Safe House is her second novel, and Sticks and Stones was her debut thriller. Find out more at www.jojakeman.com.