Annie Clarke

Christmas on the Home Front
  • Christmas on the Home Front

  • THE FOURTH NOVEL IN THE HEART-WARMING FACTORY GIRLS SERIES! Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.
    ____________________________

    Praise for Annie Clarke

    'Clarke's tale is one to lift the spirits and touch the hardest hearts' Northern Echo

    'Delightful authentic-feeling saga' Peterborough Telegraph

    'Highlights the strength of women during the toughest times' Culture Fly

    'Beautifully written' Frost Magazine
    ____________________________

    October 1942: As Christmas approaches, the evacuees decide a pantomime is just what the village of Massingham needs.

    Viola loves her new job away from the factory, and hopes that her romance with the handsome Ralph might have a happy ending. Meanwhile, married life is proving tough for Fran and Davey as they are forced apart by war work and an unexpected arrival on her doorstep turns her world upside down.

    Following her husband's shock confession, Beth finally feels as though she's regaining control of her life, that is until he turns up . . .

    A lot can happen on the home front, but Christmas is a time for family and friends, and the factory girls will do everything they can to ensure this year's celebration is one to remember.
    ____________________________

    Our readers LOVE the Factory Girls . . .

    'The characters are all strong and the style of writing makes it hard to put down'
    'Another lovely story these wonderful characters make me feel like I'm visiting old friends'
    'What a joy to read'
    'I have laughed, cried and been angry reading this book'
    'Another brilliant book'

Annie Clarke’s roots are dug deep into the North East. She draws inspiration from her mother, who was born in a County Durham pit village during the First World War, and went on to became a military nurse during World War Two. Annie and her husband now live a stone’s throw from the pit village where her mother was born. She has written frequently about the North East in novels which she hopes reflect her love and respect for the region’s lost mining communities. Annie has four adult children and four granddaughters, who fill her and her husband’s days with laughter, endlessly leading these two elders astray.


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising