David O'Doherty

The Summer I Robbed A Bank
  • The Summer I Robbed A Bank

  • Twelve-year-old Rex is dreading this summer. His parents have just split up, he's about to make the scary move to big school, and now he has to spend his holidays on a remote Irish island, with a bunch of sheep and lots of rain for company. The only upside is he will be staying with his strange and brilliant Uncle, Derm.


    But there are two things Rex doesn't know about his uncle.


    1) He's determined to save the island's old people's home from closure.
    2) He's planning to rob the island's travelling bank, in order to do it.


    And now Uncle Derm needs Rex's help . . .

    A madcap robbery, plenty of sheep and a summer of discoveries come together in this hilarious and moving novel, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Ross Welford and David Walliams.

    Praise for David O'Doherty's Danger is Everywhere series:


    'I dislocated my jaw laughing' Eoin Colfer
    'Imagine the Mighty Boosh crashed into the Wimpy Kid' The Times

    'Brilliantly funny' Gransnet

RELEASED 14/05/2020

David O'Doherty: is a stand-up comedian, writer and regular guest on television shows such as QI, Have I Got News For You and Would I Lie To You? He has written two theatre shows for children, including one where he fixed their bicycles live on stage.