Beth Underdown

The Witchfinder's  Sister
  • The Witchfinder's Sister

  • 'The number of women my brother Matthew killed, so far as I can reckon it, is one hundred and six . . .'

    THE PAGE-TURNING RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB BESTSELLER

    'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
    _________________________

    When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she returns to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

    But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witchcraft, and of a great book, in which he is gathering women's names.

    To what lengths will Matthew's obsession drive him?
    And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?


    Winner of the HWA Debut Crown Award 2017, this beautiful and haunting historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, Hamnet and Where the Crawdads Sing.
    _________________________

    'Vivid and terrifying' Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train

    'A clever, pacey read that blends truth and fiction' The Times

    'At once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale

    'A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel' Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat

    'Beth Underdown grips us from the outset and won't let go . . . at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller' Patrick Gale, author of Notes from an Exhibition

Beth Underdown lectures in Creative Writing at the University of Manchester. Her first novel, The Witchfinder's Sister, is based on the life of the 1640s witchfinder Matthew Hopkins. Beth's interest in seventeenth-century England was sparked by the work of her great-uncle David Underdown, one of that period's foremost historians. She came across a brief mention of Matthew Hopkins while reading a book about midwifery, igniting an interest which turned into an all-consuming hunt for the truth about this infamous killer.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising