Caroline Quentin

An Actor’s Life for Me: The complete series 1-3

An Actor’s Life for Me: The complete series 1-3

A BBC Radio 4 comedy drama
Audio Download


All 19 episodes of the BBC radio comedy about an aspiring actor with dreams of stardom

Young actor Robert Wilson is desperately seeking work – and he’s prepared to do almost anything for his big break. He’s convinced that he’s only one audition away from fame and fortune: but while he builds castles in the air, his agent Desmond and girlfriend Sue try their best to bring him back down to earth.

In these three series, Robert gets a part as a chauffeur (except he can’t drive), gets carried away in a romantic leading role and gets his party politicals in a bit of a pickle. Plus, his role in a seedy sex farce leads to a sticky situation with Sue’s parents; his job performing in a prison means he finally has a captive audience; and his appearance on children’s TV causes his flat to be surrounded by press – but is that an actor’s dream, or an actor’s nightmare?

Written by Paul Mayhew-Archer, who went on to co-write The Vicar of Dibley and Mrs Brown’s Boys, this lively comedy was a huge success on radio, and transferred to TV in 1991 for one series. John Gordon Sinclair plays Robert, with Caroline Quentin and Gina McKee as Sue.

More books from this author

View more