Agnes Gullon

Fortunata and Jacinta
  • Fortunata and Jacinta

  • Galdos's four-part Fortunata and Jacinta (1886-7), the masterpiece among his almost 80 novels, tells the turbulent story of two women, their husbands and their lovers, set against the intricate web of dynastic alliances and class contrasts of Madrid in the 1870s.

Benito Perez Galdos (1843-1920) Novelist and playwright, born in Las Palmas, Canary Is, Spain. Regarded as Spain's greatest novelist after Cervantes, his 46 short Episodios nacionales (National Episodes) give a vivid picture of 19th-c Spain from the viewpoint of the people. Some of his longer novels have been translated, including Doña Perfecta (1876, trans 1886). His plays, many of them based on his novels, have also been successful.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising