Arthur Conan Doyle

Arthur Conan Doyle: A BBC Radio Drama Collection
  • Arthur Conan Doyle: A BBC Radio Drama Collection

    • Arthur Conan Doyle

    • Bill Paterson (Read by)

    • Martyn Read (Read by)

    • Patrick Troughton (Read by)

    • David Schofield (Read by)

    • Sam Dale (Read by)

    • John Sessions (Read by)

    • Full Cast (Read by)

    • Alec Heggie (Read by)

    BBC Radio dramatisations and readings of some of Arthur Conan Doyle's other works - plus extracts from his letters and a bonus drama by Bert Coules

    Arthur Conan Doyle is well known as the creator of Sherlock Holmes, but he also wrote numerous works in which the great detective played no part. Included here are a selection of the best, ranging from science fiction to tales of supernatural terror and rip-roaring adventures set in Jacobean and Regency England.

    Our collection opens with two thrilling dramatisations starring Bill Paterson as the hot-tempered, larger-than-life scientist and explorer Professor Challenger. In 'When the World Screamed', he sets out on a bold mission to be recognised by Mother Earth, while 'The Disintegration Machine' sees him investigating dastardly Latvian inventor Theodore Nemor.

    'The Captain of the Polestar' tells the chilling story of a ship trapped in the Arctic, and stars Alec Heggie as Craigie, a man haunted by a strange apparition. And in the action-packed adaptations Micah Clarke and Rodney Stone, our titular young protagonists are caught up in colourful, dangerous escapades in 1685 and 1814, as Micah gets involved with the Monmouth Rebellion and Rodney is drawn into a racy world of prize-fighting and high society. Martyn Read stars as Micah Clarke, and Sean Arnold as Rodney Stone.

    Also included are the short stories 'Playing With Fire', 'How It Happened', 'One Crowded Hour', 'The Fall of Lord Barrymore', 'The Sealed Room' and 'The Lost Special' (read by Edward de Souza, Sam Dale, Christopher Harper and David Schofield), and the fascinating series Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters, in which Forbes Masson and John Dougal read extracts from his correspondence to his mother about marriage, fatherhood, killing off Holmes and going into politics. Finally, how the author ran for Parliament in 1900 and lost is explored in Bert Coules' biographical drama Vote For Conan Doyle!, starring John Sessions.

    First published 1883 ('The Captain of the Polestar'), 1889 (Micah Clarke), 1896 (Rodney Stone), 1898 ('The Sealed Room', 'The Lost Special'), 1900 ('Playing With Fire'), 1911 ('One Crowded Hour'), 1912 ('The Fall of Lord Barrymore'), 1913 ('How It Happened'), 1928 ('When The World Screamed'), 1929 ('The Disintegration Machine')

    Cast and credits
    Written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

    Track list
    1. Professor Challenger: When The World Screamed
    2. Professor Challenger: The Disintegration Machine
    3. The Captain of the Polestar
    4. Micah Clarke
    5. Rodney Stone
    Short Stories
    6. Playing With Fire
    7. How It Happened
    8. One Crowded Hour
    9. The Fall of Lord Barrymore
    10. The Sealed Room
    11. The Lost Special
    Bonus content
    12. Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
    13. Vote for Conan Doyle!

    ©2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P)2022 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd

RELEASED 20/10/2022

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle was born on 22 May 1859 in Edinburgh. He studied medicine at the University of Edinburgh and began to write stories while he was a student.Over his life he produced more than thirty books, 150 short stories, poems, plays and essays across a wide range of genres. His most famous creation is the detective Sherlock Holmes, who he introduced in his first novel A Study in Scarlet (1887). This was followed in 1889 by an historical novel, Micah Clarke. In 1893 Conan Doyle published 'The Final Problem' in which he killed off his famous detective so that he could turn his attention more towards historical fiction. However Holmes was so popular that Conan Doyle eventually relented and published The Hound of the Baskervilles in 1901. The events of the The Hound of the Baskervilles are set before those of 'The Final Problem' but in 1903 new Sherlock Holmes stories began to appear that revealed that the detective had not died after all. He was finally retired in 1927. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle died on 7 July 1930.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising