David Leavitt

The New Penguin Book of Gay Short Stories
  • The New Penguin Book of Gay Short Stories

  • The diversity - and unity - of gay love and experience in the twentieth century is celebrated in this acclaimed anthology, which includes twenty-one stories from the original collection, published in 1994, together with fifteen new stories. The texts range from the tender unarticulated longings of D.H. Lawrence's A Poem of Friendship to the explicit sexual. Writers include both men and women, gay and straight, amongst them: John Updike, Edna O'Brien, E.M. Forster, Annie Proulx, William Trevor and Edmund White.

Born in 1961, David Leavitt is the author of five novels, two of which, The Lost Language of Cranes and The Page Turner have been made into films, three collections of short stories, a book of novellas, and, most recently, a meditation of Florence. He teaches at the University of Florida. Mark Mitchell is also the editor of The Penguin Book of International Gay Writing. He lives in Italy.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising